Scott Dixon

WATKINS GLEN, New York – Scott Dixon continued his mastery of Watkins Glen International, leading this afternoon’s second practice for the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen with the fastest lap of the day.

Driving the No. 9 NTT Data Honda, Dixon logged a lap of 1 minute, 22.6187 seconds (146.843 mph) that was less than a tenth of a second off the track record he set in winning the pole position on the 11-turn, 3.37-mile permanent road course in Verizon P1 Award qualifying a year ago. Dixon is a four-time race winner on the iconic circuit in upstate New York.

INDYCAR GRAND PRIX AT THE GLEN: Practice 2 results; Combined practice results

Dixon ranks second in the point standings with two races remaining, trailing Josef Newgarden of Team Penske by 31 points. Newgarden was 10th fastest in the afternoon practice with a lap of 1:23.5842 (145.147 mph).

Conor DalyWill Power, the 2010 Watkins Glen race winner, was second fastest in the afternoon session with a lap of 1:22.7129 (146.676 mph) in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet. Rounding out the top five were: Graham Rahal in the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda (1:22.9716, 146.219 mph), Simon Pagenaud in the No. 1 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet (1:23.0915, 146.008 mph) and Alexander Rossi in the No. 98 NAPA Auto Parts/Curb Honda (1:23.1124, 145.971 mph).

Two Verizon IndyCar Series drivers were uninjured in separate incidents during the session. Chip Ganassi Racing’s Max Chilton ran hard over the curbing in the Bus Stop area and had the back end step out on his No. 8 Gallagher Honda. Chilton’s car spun and made right-side contact with the guardrail to bring out a red flag and end his session.

Later, Helio Castroneves made light contact with the guardrail exiting Turn 11, but the driver of the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet kept going and returned to pit lane.

Eight drivers – Newgarden, Dixon, Castroneves, Pagenaud, Power, Rahal, Rossi and Takuma Sato – remain mathematically eligible to win the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series championship. Of those, only Dixon (four times), Pagenaud (2016) and Power (2014) are past champions.

A third practice is set for 10:30 a.m. ET Saturday, ahead of Verizon P1 Award knockout qualifying at 3 p.m. Both sessions will stream live on, with NBCSN airing a delayed qualifying telecast at 7 p.m.

The 60-lap INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen, the 16th of 17 races on the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule, kicks off with live coverage at 1 p.m. Sunday on NBCSN and the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network.