Detroit Belle Isle

Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit presented by Quicken Loans

TV: ABC telecasts both races live (3:30 p.m. ET on May 31 and June 1). Allen Bestwick is the chief announcer, with Scott Goodyear and Eddie Cheever Jr. the analysts.

Radio/web: All Verizon IndyCar Series sessions are broadcast on IMS Radio Network affiliates, XM 209 and Sirius 213, and INDYCAR 14 app (both in conjunction with real-time Timing & Scoring). Paul Page is the chief announcer.

Twitter: @DetroitGP, @IndyCar, #DetroitGP

Weather forecast: Sunny; highs in the upper 70s

Weekend schedule
Friday, May 30 -- 11:20 a.m.-12:05 p.m. Verizon IndyCar Series practice
                          3:20-4:05 p.m. Verizon IndyCar Series practice
Saturday, May 31 -- 8:35 a.m. Qualifications for Race 1
                              3:30 p.m. ABC on air for Race 1
Sunday, June 1 -- 10 a.m. Qualifications for Race 2
                          3:30 p.m. ABC on air for Race 2

Click it: Qualifying groups || Qualifications primer for doubleheaders || Entry list || Get tickets, info

Race laps: 70 in clockwise direction on the 2.36-mile, 13-turn temporary street circuit

Start: Two-wide rolling start … single-file restarts

Pit box dimensions: 35 x 18 feet

Fuel: 60 U.S. gallons of E85 for practice/qualifying and same for each race ... Verizon IndyCar Series cars carry 18.5 U.S. gallons

Tires: The Firestone primary tires for Belle Isle are the same construction and specification as used at St. Petersburg and Long Beach earlier this season. The same alternate tires are being used on all street course races this season.

Engines: 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V6s supplied by Chevrolet and Honda ... 150 kPa turbo boost for road/street course races; 160 kPa for push to pass (10 pushes for 15-second activation) 

2013: Mike Conway led a field-high 47 laps and won Race 1 in a Dale Coyne Racing car. He earned the Verizon P1 Award for Race 2, which was won by Simon Pagenaud in a Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports car.

For spectators: The Meijer Fan Zone will feature music, entertainment, games and interactive displays, including a Verizon IndyCar Series autograph session at noon June 1 in the INDYCAR Fan Village. There will be Monster truck rides and BMX demonstrations and concerts by Los Angeles rock band Lifehouse (6:15 p.m. May 31), Jamaican reggae artist Shaggy (12:30 p.m. June 1) and local bands all weekend. New is the Detroit Sports District, featuring displays from all of the Detroit professional sports teams. Fans can meet James Edwards, Dave Rozema, Mateen Cleaves, Dan Petry, Joe Kocur and more throughout the weekend. ... May 30 is Comerica Bank Free Prix Day.

Of note: There have been five different winners in the five races under INDYCAR sanction dating to 2007. ... Bobby Rahal won the first Indy car race in Detroit in 1992; Michael Andretti was the pole sitter. ... Chevrolet recently extended its sponsorship of the event through 2016. ... The State of Michigan took over management of Belle Isle earlier this year. ... Indianapolis 500 Mile Race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay (No. 28 DHL car for Andretti Autosport) takes a 40-point lead over Will Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske) into the doubleheader. ... The driver who has gone on to win the series championship has won at Detroit three times (Alex Zanardi, 1998), Rahal (1992) and Emerson Fittipaldi (1989 on downtown street course). ... Helio Castroneves has competed in nine races at Detroit, most of any driver. He earned his first victory in 2000 at Belle Isle. ... Three drivers entered are making their first start at Belle Isle (Mikhail Aleshin, Jack Hawksworth abnd Carlos Huertas). ... The weekend twinbill will be the fifth and sixth races on a road/street course this season. Four different drivers have won, and there have been four different pole winners. ... Hunter-Reay (Barber, Indinaapolis 500) is the only double winner this season. ... Scott Dixon has finished in the top five in every Verizon IndyCar Series doubleheader.