Will Power celebrates his Mid-Ohio pole with his family

LEXINGTON, Ohio Will Power won the pole position as Team Penske landed three of the top four positions during Saturday’s qualifying for the NTT IndyCar Series Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet) earned the NTT P1 Award with a lap of 124.757 miles per hour (1 minute, 5.1569 seconds) during the Firestone Fast Six qualifying on the 13-turn, 2.258-mile permanent road course. It was his third pole of the season and 57th of his career.

With his pole-winning, final-lap run, Power edged Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi (No. 27 NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda), who qualified second with a lap of 124.044 mph (1:05.5317).

RESULTS: Official Qualifying for the Honda Indy 200

Rossi was followed by the Team Penske duo of Josef Newgarden (No. 2 PPG Team Penske Chevrolet), who was third with a lap of 123.560 mph (1:05.7885), and Simon Pagenaud (No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet), fourth at 123.358 mph (1:05.8958).

Rounding out the Firestone Fast Six were Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan driver Sebastien Bourdais (No. 18 SealMaster Honda) at 122.784/1:06.2040 and Chip Ganassi Racing rookie Felix Rosenqvist (No. 10 Clover Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) at 122.253 mph/1:06.4914.

The NTT IndyCar Series returns to the track at Noon ET Sunday for a final 30-minute warm-up session (NBC Sports Gold).

The Honda Indy 200 (90 laps, 203.22 miles), Round 13 of 17 of the NTT IndyCar Series season, will be broadcast live beginning at 4 p.m. ET on NBC as well as the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network and SiriusXM Radio, Channel 209.

In major off-track news Saturday, Andretti Autosport announced that Rossi has signed a multi-year agreement with the organization. The 27-year-old Californian will return in 2020 and beyond to drive the No. 27 Honda with primary sponsorship divided between long-time team partners NAPA AUTO PARTS and AutoNation. Rossi has won seven races, including the 100th running of the Indy 500 in 2016, and six poles in his four seasons with Andretti Autosport.