Victory Lap Save The Date

For INDYCAR fans who want to get in on the action of helping determine some of this season’s big winners, save the date of Oct. 29.

That’s when INDYCAR will present its awards – including the Astor Challenge Cup to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship-winning driver and owner -- during a virtual version of its Victory Lap celebration. The event will be streamed on INDYCAR’s channel and fans are encouraged to join in and celebrate with the award winners.

While the Astor Cup is the main prize, numerous other awards will be determined on and off the track.

Some of the newest awards for 2020 will be decided by fan voting honoring some of the best moments of actual on-track action in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and elements from the popular INDYCAR iRacing Challenge – a series of virtual races that ran from the end of March through the first week of May when the COVID-19 pandemic delayed the start of the season.

One of the fan awards included will be the Wildest iRacing On-Track moment, celebrating some eye-popping moments that fans would likely never see take place in a real event.

Another award will go to the Best iRacing Guest Star. There were plenty of drivers from outside of INDYCAR that competed in the iRacing INDYCAR Challenge and fans will get a chance to choose their favorite.

Fans can also vote on the Best Radio Moment of the Year from drivers’ in-car communication with their team. Candidates include Colton Herta’s comments about Rinus VeeKay’s pass of him at World Wide Technology Raceway, Takuma Sato’s joy after winning the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, Scott Dixon’s definition of blocking at Mid-Ohio and Alexander Rossi’s interpretation of track limits at the INDYCAR Harvest GP presented by GMR.

The 2020 On-Track Moment of the Year is yet to be determined but could include dramatic moments such as Marco Andretti winning the pole for the 104th Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in August. Other fans might vote for Felix Rosenqvist’s come-from-behind victory at Road America when he tracked down race leader Pato O’Ward and passed him in the closing laps of the contest. Or, there was Simon Pagenaud’s “worst to first” drive in the first of two races in the Iowa INDYCAR 250s.

While fans can determine those winners, several awards were determined during the races in 2020. Among them are the TAG Heuer “Don’t Crack Under Pressure” Award, presented to the driver who advances the most cumulative positions in races throughout the season.

The NTT P1 Award honors the pole-winning drivers of 2020. The NTT P1 Award is determined by points that are accumulated for the race in which that driver was the pole winner.

The top pit crews in INDYCAR will be honored with the Firestone Pit Performance Award. The top three entries with the most cumulative Pit Stop Performance Award points for the 2020 season will split a $150,000 purse.

The first-place team will collect $75,000. Second place is worth $50,000, and third place will earn $25,000.

While these awards will be determined in competition, the fan vote awards will help put INDYCAR’s loyal legion of supporters into the driver’s seat to help determine the winners in some exciting new categories for 2020.

Tune in on Oct. 29 to see the winners in each category revealed when INDYCAR streams the virtual Victory Lap.