Colton Herta

Chip Ganassi Racing, victors in three of the last five NTT INDYCAR SERIES races, have been the organization to beat at Road America, boasting four NTT INDYCAR SERIES victories in the last five tries. Team Penske driver Josef Newgarden in 2022 is the only Chevrolet trip to victory lane at the 4.014-mile scenic racetrack in the last six race at the picturesque Wisconsin circuit.

Can anyone new join the fray for Sunday’s 55-lap XPEL Grand Prix at Road America presented by AMR? Live coverage starts at 3:30 p.m. ET on NBC, Peacock and the INDYCAR Radio Network.


Josef Newgarden (No. 2 PPG Team Penske Chevrolet)

The only Chevrolet winner at Road America since 2017 (eight-race span) has five top-three finishes in his last eight Road America tries. Newgarden led 32 laps but suffered a mechanical failure while leading on a late race restart in 2021. He led 26 laps in his 2022 win and finished runner-up last year.

Pato O’Ward (No. 5 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet)

O’Ward has four top-10 finishes in his last five Road America starts, including a third-place finish after qualifying second last June.

Scott Dixon (No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)

Dixon, the 2024 NTT INDYCAR SERIES points leader, doesn’t have a Road America podium finish since his 2020 victory but has six top-five finishes in his last eight starts. On natural road courses, Dixon has six top-four finishes in his last seven tries.

Alex Palou (No. 10 DHL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)

A pair of wins in his last three Road America starts, placing fifth at Barber Motorsports Park this April and a win in the Sonsio Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in May makes Palou THE favorite. He has five natural road course wins in his last eight opportunities and a series-leading 17 top-three finishes on natural road courses since 2020.

Colton Herta (No. 26 Gainbridge Honda)

The Andretti Global driver led 33 laps from the pole last year at Road America. If not for the decision to pit a lap too soon, Herta was well on his way to a victory. His six Road America finishes are eighth, fifth, fifth, second, fifth and fifth, respectively. This season, Herta finished eighth at Barber Motorsports Park and seventh on the 2.439-mile, 14-turn Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.


Alexander Rossi (No. 7 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet)

Rossi gained five spots in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES points standings the last two races, climbing from 10th to fifth following finishes of fourth and fifth, respectively. The 2019 Road America winner has finished 19th, third, seventh, third and 10th, respectively, since that victory.

Marcus Armstrong (No. 11 Ridgeline Lubricants Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)

Road America was the site of Armstrong’s breakout performance last season. He had a top-five car, leading five laps, before going off track late in the race. On natural road courses this season, Armstrong finished ninth at Barber Motorsports Park and fifth at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. He enters following his first career podium finish (third) last Sunday in Detroit and calls Road America his favorite track.

Marcus Ericsson (No. 28 Delaware Life Honda)

Ericsson boasts five consecutive top-10 finishes at Road America, including results of fourth, sixth, second and sixth, respectively, in his last four starts in Wisconsin. He emerged with a runner-up finish Sunday at Detroit.

Christian Lundgaard (No. 45 Hy-Vee Honda)

On natural road course races this season, Lundgaard came home sixth at Barber Motorsports Park and third in the Sonsio Grand Prix at Indianapolis. In two Road America starts, Lundgaard finished 10th in 2022 and seventh last year.

Felix Rosenqvist (No. 60 AutoNation/SiriusXM Honda)

Road America is the site of Rosenqvist’s lone NTT INDYCAR SERIES victory, in 2020 while driving for Chip Ganassi Racing. This season, the Meyer Shank Racing driver finished fourth at Barber Motorsports Park and 10th on the 2.439-mile, 14-turn Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.