Pato O'Ward

Pato O’Ward has signed a multiyear extension to remain with Arrow McLaren, the organization announced today.

The 24-year-old driver is entering his fifth full season in the series, all with the same team. Since joining Arrow McLaren, O’Ward has established himself as one of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES’ top drivers, winning four races and five NTT P1 Awards in qualifying in 64 starts. He also has earned 20 top-three finishes and three top-four finishes in the season standings.

O’Ward will again drive the No. 5 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet when the new season begins next week with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on Sunday, March 10.

“I couldn’t be more excited to sign this deal with the team,” O’Ward said in a statement released by Arrow McLaren. “I have to thank Zak (Brown) and Gavin (Ward), the partners and all who were involved in making this happen, especially before the NTT INDYCAR SERIES season starts so we can focus on racing and winning.

“McLaren has become home for me, and I am proud that I’ll be racing in papaya for a few more years at least.”

O’Ward remains one of the most popular drivers in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, driving significant fan engagement through social media and at-track activations throughout the country.

“This is a big day for the team and for Pato,” said Ward, Arrow McLaren’s team principal. “It’s been great to see Pato and the team grow together. We’re thrilled to continue racing with him, and I look forward to showing the racing world what we can achieve as a group.

“Having this (contract extension) done and dusted before the start of the season means the No. 5 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet crew can go into the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg free from distraction and with one goal in mind: to execute each race weekend to the fullest of our potential.”

O’Ward also became eligible for a super license after reaching the points threshold following the season, leading to his appointment as a 2024 McLaren Racing F1 Reserve Driver. He will fulfill his reserve driver duties for the team following the NTT INDYCAR SERIES season.