Team Penske

Last Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway, Josef Newgarden completed a journey to an astonishing 600 victories across all racing disciplines for Team Penske, a ride that began with the team’s first win 56 years ago.

But it’s almost certain team owner Roger Penske and Penske Racing President Tim Cindric didn’t see Newgarden’s thrilling win over teammate Scott McLaughlin as a destination. Win No. 600 was just a milestone – a big one, nonetheless – en route to more triumphs. Would it surprise anyone if Penske and Cindric already are targeting Win No. 700 or even a mind-boggling 1,000 trips to Victory Lane?

Team Penske – then known as Roger Penske Racing – earned its first victory Feb. 6, 1966 when drivers Dick Guldstrand, George Wintersteen and Ben Moore won the new GT class in the Rolex 24 At Daytona sports car endurance classic while sharing the No. 6 Chevrolet Corvette Sting Ray coupe.

Here’s a look at some fascinating facts and figures surrounding the incredible success of Team Penske, the winningest American team in motorsports history.


First win: Dick Guldstrand, George Wintersteen, Ben Moore, Feb. 6, 1966, Rolex 24 At Daytona, Daytona International Speedway, USAC-FIA sports cars

50th: Mark Donohue, July 18, 1971, Michigan 200, Michigan International Speedway, USAC Champ Car

100th: Bobby Unser, May 24, 1981, Indianapolis 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, USAC

200th: Paul Tracy, May 25, 1997, Motorola 300, Gateway International Raceway, CART

300th: Ryan Briscoe, June 1, 2008, ABC Supply A.J. Foyt 225, Milwaukee Mile, INDYCAR SERIES

400th: Brad Keselowski, Sept. 6, 2014, Federated Auto Parts 400, Richmond Raceway, NASCAR Cup Series

500th: Brad Keselowski, Sept. 16, 2018, South Point 400, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, NASCAR Cup Series

600th: Josef Newgarden, March 20, 2022, XPEL 375, Texas Motor Speedway, NTT INDYCAR SERIES


Fifty different drivers have won at least one race for Team Penske since 1966. Here’s a look at the top five:

67 wins: Brad Keselowski

59: Mark Donohue

49: Scott McLaughlin

37: Rusty Wallace, Joey Logano, Will Power


Team Penske has won races in 14 different global series. The five series in which it has earned the most wins:


134: NASCAR Cup Series

81: NASCAR Xfinity Series

56: Australian V8 Supercars

32: IMSA

Team Penske also has wins in SCCA Trans-Am, Can-Am, USRRC, ARCA, WEC, F5000, USAC Stock Cars, Formula One and FIA competition.


With 600 victories, it’s pretty obvious Team Penske has won in every decade in which it has competed. Here’s a look at the top three decades:

231 wins: 2010s

111: 2000s

71: 1990s

The 2020s could redefine success for the team. It already has 55 wins this decade, which is just entering its third season. Penske’s chances to earn more trips to Victory Lane will increase in 2023 when it resumes sports car competition with a Porsche LMDh prototype.


Team Penske has won at 92 tracks around the world. The top five:

29 wins: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

26: Michigan International Speedway, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

24: Pocono Raceway

19: Texas Motor Speedway


The Earth has seven continents, and Team Penske has won on five of them. A rundown:

533 wins: North America

58: Australia

4: South America

3: Europe

2: Asia

If Team Penske won an event in Africa, would anyone doubt if “The Captain” tried to find a race in Antarctica to sweep the globe?


Here are the top five states for Team Penske victories:

49 wins: California

36: Michigan

32: Florida, Ohio

31: Pennsylvania

For those wondering where Indiana ranks on the list, it’s No. 6, with 30 victories.