Ryan Hunter-Reay

Watch: Andretti Autosport Tribute Video to RHR

The decade-plus INDYCAR partnership between Ryan Hunter-Reay and Andretti Autosport will end later this month.

Andretti Autosport announced today on social media that Hunter-Reay will not return to the team’s NTT INDYCAR SERIES lineup in 2022. He is the longest-tenured INDYCAR driver in the team’s history, completing his 12th season with the team owned by former INDYCAR SERIES champion Michael Andretti.

Hunter-Reay climbed to the peaks of the sport with Andretti Autosport, including winning the 2012 NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship and the 2014 Indianapolis 500. “Captain America” has recorded 15 of his 18 career INDYCAR SERIES victories with Andretti Autosport.

“What started as three races in 2010 grew to over a decade of successes,” the team statement read on Instagram. “Through 12 seasons Andretti Autosport, DHL and Ryan Hunter-Reay climbed mountains. We claimed a championship and captured victory on racing’s biggest stage. And now, over the next two weekends, Ryan will turn his last laps as our INDYCAR teammate.

“Thank you, @ryanhunterreay, for 12 great seasons with us: 15 wins together, an Indy 500 victory and an INDYCAR title. Always a champion, always a friend. Wishing you the best of luck in the laps ahead.”

RHR’s first victory with Andretti came in the 2010 Grand Prix of Long Beach in his fourth start with the team, a win that secured enough sponsorship for him to finish the season with the team, launching a long partnership with current primary sponsor DHL. His most-recent win came in 2018 at Sonoma Raceway.

No announcement was made about Hunter-Reay’s replacement in the team’s No. 28 Honda-powered entry.

Hunter-Reay’s final two starts with Andretti Autosport will be the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey on Sunday, Sept. 19 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca and the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach – where he earned his first win for the team – on Sunday, Sept. 26.