Tony Kanaan and Will Power

At the end of September, the Verizon IndyCar Series handed out its season awards at its Victory Lap event in Indianapolis. But isn’t finished distributing the special, hard-earned honors we're calling the Speedy Awards.

We've been diving deep into the analytics of the 2018 season to find the driver who had the best year according to the loads of data gathered by INDYCAR's elaborate timing and scoring computers at every event. Analysis of raw loop data helps us decide the winners of several awards. The driver with the most Speedy Awards at the end of this series will be crowned the Speedy "Driver of the Year."

This week, we’ll present three Speedy Awards, the Arie Luyendyk Speed Demons, given to the fastest trap speeds in races on road/street courses and ovals and the best driver using push-to-pass overtake.

The winner of the Speed Demon Award for ovals is:

Tony Kanaan, AJ Foyt Racing

Tony Kanaan posted the fastest trap speed in two races in 2018, including the fastest speed at Gateway Motorsports Park. He ranked among the top five drivers at all six oval races.

The winner of the Speed Demon Award for road/street courses is:

Will Power, Team Penske

Will Power was the only driver to post the fastest trip speed on more than one road/street course in 2018, setting the fastest straight-line speed Belle Isle-1 and Sonoma.

Sebastien BourdaisAnd the Speed Demon Award for push-to-pass is:

Sebastien Bourdais, Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan

Sebastien Bourdais didn’t use push-to-pass all the time, but when he did, he was the most effective driver in the 2018 season. Bourdais made 39 passes using push-to-pass (second among all drivers) and had an efficiency rating of 18.7 percent (39 passes in 214 push-to-pass attempts).

Previous awards:

Alex Zanardi “Overtaker of the Year” (link

Closer (link:

Restart King (

Most Valuable Pit Crew (

“Excuse Me, Coming Through” Trophy (

Average Running Position (