Will Power

Practice 2 results || Segment 1 qualifying groups || Combined results

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Will Power's lap of 1 minute, 07.2913 topped the 23-car field in the second practice session for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama and was a half-second off the official track record.

Scott Dixon set the lap record of 1:06.7750 (123.999 mph) in the first round of knockout qualifications in 2013, but it likely will fall later today just as the track records at St. Petersburg and Long Beach have in the past four weeks.

Power has started from the pole three times (2014, 2011, 2010) in the five races at Barber Motorsports Park. He earned the Verizon P1 Award in 2014 with a lap of 1:08.3120 in the Firestone Fast Six.

Power's Team Penske teammate, Helio Castroneves, was .2680 of a second back and Dixon posted a quick lap of 1:07.5999 for third. Simon Pagenaud and Sebastien Bourdais also were in the top five for the second consecutive practice session.

Dixon, driving the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, recorded a quick lap of 1:07.7754 in the 60-minute morning practice.

All teams tested March 16-17 for the first time with the new road/street and short oval aerodynamic bodywork packages at Barber Motorsports Park.

Three rounds of knockout qualifications that determine the Verizon P1 Award and sets the grid for the 90-lap race April 26 (3 p.m. ET, NBCSN) will be contested starting at 4:55 p.m. (ET). Watch it on RaceControl.indycar.com. NBCSN also will telecast qualifying at 5 p.m. (ET).

The qualifying format and notes

Segment 1

Cars shall participate in one of the two groups for 10 minutes per group inclusive of full-course yellow conditions, with six cars posting best lap times from each group advancing to Segment 2.

Cars not advancing to Segment 2 will fill positions 13 through the end of the starting field to be ranked in order of best lap time as follows: Group 1 shall occupy the odd-numbered positions beginning with 13 and Group 2 will occupy the even-numbered positions beginning with 14.

Segment 2

Consists of 10-minute, 12-car qualifying group inclusive of full-course yellow conditions, with all times from Segment 1 having been voided. Six cars posting best lap times advance to Segment 3 (Firestone Fast Six). Cars not advancing to Segment 3 will fill positions 7-12.

Segment 3 (Firestone Fast Six)

Consists of one 10-minute, six-car qualifying group, of which five minutes is guaranteed green condition time. Determines the Verizon P1 Award winner and the first three rows for 110-lap race.

2015 Verizon P1 Award winners:

* Streets of St. Petersburg – Will Power, Team Penske (track record)
* NOLA Motorsports Park – Juan Pablo Montoya, Team Penske (based on entrant points when qualifying was canceled by rain)
* Streets of Long Beach – Helio Castroneves, Team Penske (track record)

2014 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Verizon P1 Award:

Will Power (1 minute, 08.3120 seconds; 121.209 mph on 2.38-mile, 17-turn road course in No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet)

Of note:

The Verizon P1 Award winner has gone on to win the race twice in its five years (Ryan Hunter-Reay in 2013 and Power in 2011).