Esther and Alex Palou

Chip Ganassi Racing driver Alex Palou has a new title to add to his life, but it has nothing to do with a race car.

Besides being the two-time and reigning NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion, he’s now also known as “Dad.”

Palou and his wife, Esther, welcomed their first child, a girl named Lucia, on Dec. 4. Palou posted on Instagram, with a photo of Lucia:

"Welcome to our world Lucia

Both baby and mom are doing great. Best day ever!


Rasmussen Honored in Native Denmark

2023 INDY NXT by Firestone champion Christian Rasmussen was named Danish Racing Driver of the Year at the annual Danish Motor Sport Award on Nov. 30 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The annual prize is the most prestigious award presented to a Danish driver by DASU, the Danish governing body of motorsport.

Rasmussen, from Copenhagen, was saluted for winning the INDY NXT by Firestone championship with HMD Motorsports, becoming only the second driver to win titles in junior open-wheel ladder series INDY NXT, USF Pro 2000 and USF2000.

That success helped Rasmussen land a deal to compete on road and street courses and the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge in the 2024 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season with Ed Carpenter Racing. Rasmussen will become the third Dane to race in the “500,” behind Christian Lundgaard of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Benjamin Pedersen.

“I am deeply honored to win this title, something every Danish driver wants to achieve,” Rasmussen said. “It follows an amazing season that brought not only the INDY NXT title but also a contract with Ed Carpenter Racing for 2024.

“If it were not for this (ladder system), I doubt I would have been able to secure the budgets necessary to compete at the highest level. I would also like to thank HMD Motorsports, Jay Howard, DASU, Team Danmark, sponsors and, of course, my family, who has supported me throughout my career.”

The Racing Driver of the Year is selected by a panel of experts, including legendary nine-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen of Denmark, who has won this award six times. Other winners of the award, first presented in 1994, include Lundgaard (in 2017), Formula One driver Kevin Magnussen and sports car star Jan Magnussen.