Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963

Eleven NTT INDYCAR SERIES or INDY NXT by Firestone drivers will compete Saturday, Oct. 14 in the Motul Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta, and some will play a role in who wins championships in the final IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race of the season.

Petit Le Mans is a 10-hour endurance race on the 12-turn, 2.54-mile road course at Road Atlanta, located in Braselton, Georgia. The race featuring 52 cars in five classes starts at noon ET Saturday, with the finish in darkness at 10 p.m. Peacock will stream the entire race live, with coverage from 6:30-10 p.m. also on the USA Network.

Four NTT INDYCAR SERIES drivers will race in the GTP class, the premier category of the WeatherTech Championship. That class features a raging title battle, with just five points separating the leading team of the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac Racing V-Series.R, the second-place No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-06 of Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Autosport and the third-place No. 6 Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963.

While no INDYCAR drivers are on those teams, two teams still mathematically eligible for the GTP season crown will feature NTT INDYCAR SERIES stalwarts.

Two-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion and reigning Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge winner Josef Newgarden will share the No. 7 Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963 with regulars Felipe Nasr and Matt Campbell, as the team is fifth in the standings entering the season finale.

This is Newgarden’s debut in a GTP prototype, and it’s also his first time racing on the undulating, challenging Road Atlanta circuit. He made his IMSA debut last January in the Rolex 24 At Daytona as part of a team in the LMP2 prototype class.

NTT INDYCAR SERIES newcomer Tom Blomqvist and four-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves will share the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian Acura ARX-06 with series regular Colin Braun in a longshot bid to win a second consecutive premier-class title in IMSA.

Six-time INDYCAR SERIES champion Scott Dixon will drive the No. 01 Cadillac Racing Cadillac V-Series.R fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing. Dixon joins four-time INDYCAR SERIES champion Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande in the Cadillac.

The LMP2 prototype class features the most INDYCAR representation, with five drivers.

2023 INDY NXT by Firestone Rookie of the Year Nolan Siegel will be a part of a three-way title fight for the LMP2 championship. The No. 04 Crowdstrike Racing by APR ORECA that Siegel shares with Ben Hanley and George Kurtz is third in the standings, 100 points out of the lead.

Other INDYCAR drivers in the LMP2 class include NTT INDYCAR SERIES race winner Scott McLaughlin and 2024 INDYCAR SERIES rookie Kyffin Simpson in the No. 8 Tower Motorsports car, 2023 INDY NXT by Firestone champion Christian Rasmussen in the No. 18 Era Motorsport prototype and 2023 INDY NXT by Firestone rookie but experienced sports car racer Josh Pierson in the No. 35 TDS Racing ORECA.

INDY NXT by Firestone veteran Rasmus Lindh will share the No. 85 JDC Miller MotorSports Duqueine in the LMP3 class. Two-time 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES race winner Kyle Kirkwood is the only INDYCAR driver in the production-based GT classes, sharing the No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 with former INDYCAR SERIES driver Jack Hawksworth and Ben Barnicoat.

Kirkwood will drive a championship-winning car during his first stint in the Lexus, as the No. 14 team only needs to start the race to claim the season championship in the GTD Pro class.