Arrow McLaren cars

McLaren Racing revealed April 14 its special livery series for Arrow McLaren in the 2023 Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, which celebrates the team’s historic Triple Crown accolade as part of its 60th anniversary.

For the April 20-21 Open Test and Indy 500 practice rounds, qualifying and the iconic race May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Arrow McLaren will field four Chevrolets, each carrying a unique commemorative livery to celebrate the individual race wins that comprise the team’s Triple Crown achievement.

The liveries for the No. 5 (Pato O’Ward), No. 6 (Felix Rosenqvist) and No. 7 (Alexander Rossi) Arrow McLaren Chevrolets were unveiled April 14 at an open event for fans and media at the Lifestyle Expo, ahead of the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach. The reveal was attended by McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown, Arrow McLaren Racing Director Gavin Ward and Arrow McLaren drivers Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist and Alexander Rossi. Tony Kanaan, who will drive the team’s fourth car entry for the Indy 500, was the emcee for the event.

“I am proud to unveil these iconic commemorative liveries, celebrating McLaren's historic Triple Crown accomplishment for our 60th anniversary,” Brown said. “They look incredible, and I cannot wait to see our guys race them on track.”

Widely considered the greatest accomplishment in racing, the Triple Crown is achieved through winning the three most prestigious races in motorsport: the Monaco Grand Prix, the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. McLaren’s Triple Crown is comprised of victories at the Indy 500 in 1974 with Johnny Rutherford, the 1984 Monaco Grand Prix with Alain Prost and the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1995 with JJ Lehto, Yannick Dalmas and Masanori Sekiya. 

The livery series forms a part of McLaren’s 60th birthday celebrations in 2023, honoring iconic moments throughout its history, celebrating some of the team’s greatest achievements and the proud legacy built by team founder Bruce McLaren.