Taylor Kiel

Taylor Kiel has resigned as team president of Arrow McLaren SP effective Sept. 20, a move announced by Kiel on social media and confirmed by the NTT INDYCAR SERIES team.

Indianapolis native Kiel has served as president of AMSP the last two seasons. The team won four races and six NTT P1 Awards during his tenure as leader, with all victories by Pato O’Ward and four poles by O’Ward and two by Felix Rosenqvist.

O’Ward finished a career-best third in the standings in 2021, while O’Ward and Rosenqvist placed seventh and eighth, respectively, in series points in 2022. Kiel also served as O’Ward’s race strategist the last two seasons.

“What a ride it’s been with Arrow McLaren SP,” Kiel posted on social media. “It has been an honor to work for Arrow McLaren SP for more than a decade. When I started as a junior Indy Lights mechanic at Sam Schmidt Motorsports, I saw the potential to learn and grow within the organization with mentorship from Sam and Chris Griffis.

“As I step away, I am most proud that we’ve grown this team into an organization able to fight for championships and wins each week. I now look forward to spending time with my own growing family and an exciting, new chapter ahead.”

Kiel earned a business degree from Indiana University before joining Sam Schmidt Motorsports in 2007 in Indy Lights. He rose through the team’s ranks to become president of AMSP.

AMSP is growing to three cars next season, with 2016 Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi joining O’Ward and Rosenqvist in the driver lineup. The team also announced last May plans to build a new, 97,000 square-foot headquarters in Whitestown, Indiana, just north of Indianapolis, with the facility becoming operational in phases from late 2023 to early 2024.

No replacement for Kiel was named. A statement from McLaren Racing read, “As the team grows to three cars for the 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season, announcements on team management will be made in due course.”