Linus Lundqvist

Success in Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires was honored this year at the 2022 Victory Lap Celebration on Saturday night at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum, with Linus Lundqvist and HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing taking the spotlight as champions.

This was the first year Indy Lights drivers and teams were honored at the annual year-end ceremony that also salutes champions and other top drivers in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, as in 2022 INDYCAR took over execution and promotion of Indy Lights.

Lundqvist was honored as champion after a dominant season for HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing. Lundqvist won a series-high five races in the No. 26 HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing entry and clinched the Lights championship with a race to spare, ending with a 92-point advantage over Sting Ray Robb.

Swedish driver Lundqvist also received a painting representing his 2022 championship season created by noted motorsports artist Jim Swintal, also a longtime INDYCAR SERIES race official. Swintal has painted these works for Lights champions every year since 1991.

Lundqvist also received the AiM Sports Move Award presented to the driver judged to have made the most dramatic pass of the year.

Andretti Autosport teammates Robb and Matthew Brabham also were honored for finishing second and third, respectively, in the standings.

HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing owners Henry and Daiva Malukas accepted an honor for their championship-winning team this season in Lights.

Hunter McElrea received the Rookie of the Year Award in Indy Lights. McElrea, from New Zealand, drove to two victories, seven podium finishes and three poles in the No. 27 Andretti Autosport entry en route to finishing fourth in the series standings.