Will Power

NTT INDYCAR SERIES points leader Will Power was the fastest driver Friday afternoon in the opening practice for the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Axalta and Valvoline at World Wide Technology Raceway, leading six cars over 180 mph.

Power’s top lap was 180.539 mph in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet. He wasn’t far from the speed he turned to earn the NTT P1 Award for this event last season, 180.618 mph.

SEE: Practice Results

“We just worked on qualifying, I think like everyone else,” Power said. “It’s ridiculously close. A lot of people have good cars. Mine feels really good right now, so looking forward to qualifying.”

2014 series champion Power will attempt to earn his 67th career INDYCAR SERIES pole – tying Mario Andretti for the all-time lead in that category – during NTT P1 Award qualifying, which starts at 4:15 p.m. ET today on the 1.25-mile oval in Madison, Illinois, just across the Mississippi River from St. Louis. Power leads second-place Scott Dixon by six points in the standings with three races remaining.

Reigning series champion Alex Palou was second fastest today at 180.208 in the No. 10 American Legion Honda. Palou is fifth in the standings, 33 points behind Power.

Felix Rosenqvist continued his summer surge by ending up third at 180.065 in the No. 7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet, followed by Scott McLaughlin at 180.047 in the No. 3 Odyssey Battery Team Penske Chevrolet.

2021 Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge winner Marcus Ericsson rounded out the top five at 180.042 in the No. 8 Bryant Honda. Ericsson is third in the standings, 12 points behind Power.

After qualifying, two practice sessions will take place, from 7-7:30 p.m. and 7:45-8:45 p.m. ET. The purpose of the two later sessions is for cars to drive through the high lane to add rubber to the racing surface. Peacock Premium and the INDYCAR Radio Network will provide live coverage of all sessions.

Saturday’s live coverage of the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Axalta and Valvoline will begin at 6 p.m. ET, with the green flag for the 260-lap race scheduled for 6:30 p.m. (USA Network, Peacock Premium and the INDYCAR Radio Network).