Racing at World Wide Technology Raceway in 2021

Nine NTT INDYCAR SERIES drivers will participate in a special on-track session Friday evening at World Wide Technology Raceway to add tire rubber to the high groove of the 1.25-mile oval.

One driver from each team will turn laps in the 30-minute session. They are: Alexander Rossi of Andretti Autosport, Felix Rosenqvist of Arrow McLaren SP, Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing, Takuma Sato of Dale Coyne Racing with RWR, Conor Daly of Ed Carpenter Racing, rookie Callum Ilott of Juncos Hollinger Racing, Simon Pagenaud of Meyer Shank Racing, Jack Harvey of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Will Power of Team Penske.

A similar session was held a day in advance of the XPEL 375 at Texas Motor Speedway on March 20. There were 284 passes for position in the race.

Friday’s action begins with the first NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice at 1 p.m. ET. The series will be on track again at 4:15 p.m. for qualifying for the NTT P1 Award (Peacock Premium and the INDYCAR Radio Network) with a pair of later practice sessions (6-6:30 p.m. and 6:45-7:45 p.m. The 6 o’clock session is to apply the extra tire rubber.

Saturday’s live coverage of the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Axalta and Valvoline will begin at 6 p.m. ET with the green flag for the 260-lap race scheduled for 6:30 p.m. (USA Network, Peacock Premium and the INDYCAR Radio Network).