Josef Newgarden and Conor Daly

The Hy-Vee INDYCAR Race Weekend at Iowa Speedway features the only doubleheader on the 2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES schedule, and a special qualifying format Saturday, July 23 will determine the starting lineup for both races.

NTT P1 Award qualifying starts at 10:30 a.m. (ET) Saturday, with live coverage on Peacock Premium and the INDYCAR Radio Network.

The qualifying format is simple: Drivers will turn two consecutive hot laps on the fast, .875-mile short track. The first lap determines their starting spot for the first race of the weekend, the 250 presented by DoorDash NTT INDYCAR SERIES race at 4 p.m. (ET) Saturday (NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network), while the second lap will set the starting grid for the Hy-Vee Salute to Farmers 300 presented by Google at 3 p.m. (ET) Sunday (NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network).

This format was used for the oval doubleheaders in 2020 at Iowa and World Wide Technology Raceway, with different drivers taking the top spots for both races at both venues.

Conor Daly claimed his first career NTT INDYCAR SERIES pole for the first race at Iowa at 175.188 mph, and Josef Newgarden took the top spot for the second race at 175.107. Will Power won the NTT P1 Award for Race 1 at WWRT, with Takuma Sato claiming pole for the second race.

The qualifying system also was scheduled for the oval doubleheader in 2021 at Texas Motor Speedway, but the field for both races was set by points after rain washed out time trials.