Scott Dixon

Six-time and reigning NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Scott Dixon was nominated for the Best Driver honor at the upcoming 2021 ESPYS, the prestigious annual sports award celebration.

Fans can vote for Chip Ganassi Racing standout Dixon by clicking here. Voting closes at 8 p.m. (ET) Friday, July 9.

“It’s always humbling to be recognized by ESPN with an ESPY nomination,” Dixon said. “They award the best in sports, and I want to congratulate all the nominees in the Best Driver category. Racing is more than just a single person or a driver, and I have a great team behind me at Chip Ganassi Racing. This year marks 20 years together and a lot of success as a team, fortunately. I hope we can keep it up for many years to come.”

ABC will televise the ESPYS at 8 p.m. (ET) Saturday, July 10, live from The Rooftop at Pier 17 in New York.

Dixon joins 2020 Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton, 2020 NASCAR Cup Series champion Chase Elliott and 2020 NHRA Pro Stock champion Erica Enders as nominees for the Best Driver award.

New Zealand native Dixon is aiming to become the fifth driver to win the Best Driver award for success in the INDYCAR SERIES. Other winners: Nigel Mansell (1994), Al Unser Jr. (1995), Jimmy Vasser (1997) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2013, 2014).

Dixon won four races last season in the No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda en route to his sixth title, just one shy of the all-time INDYCAR SERIES record set by A.J. Foyt.