Helio Castroneves

By the Numbers: Practice Results

Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves was the fastest among three drivers who participated in the Firestone Fast Nine Shootout practice this morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, while Simona De Silvestro led the trio that participated in the Last Chance Qualifying practice.

The six drivers participating in the combined one-hour session turned just 66 laps overall, as more than half of the 14 drivers eligible to turn laps sat out before Crown Royal Armed Forces Qualifying resumes.

Castroneves, aiming for his fifth Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge pole today, was fastest overall at 230.509 in the No. 06 AutoNation/SiriusXM Honda. 2014 “500” winner Ryan Hunter-Reay was second at 230.450 in the No. 28 DHL Honda.

Alex Palou, who crashed heavily in qualifying Saturday, was third overall at 230.282 in his rebuilt No. 10 NTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda.

De Silvestro was tops among non-qualifiers at 228.998 in the No. 16 Rocket Pro TPO/Paretta Autosport Chevrolet, good for fourth overall. Charlie Kimball was fifth overall at 227.920 in the No. 11 Tresiba/AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet, while rookie RC Enerson was sixth at 227.384 in the No. 75 Top Gun Racing Chevrolet.

De Silvestro, Kimball, Enerson, Will Power and Sage Karam will vie for the final three qualifying spots in Last Chance Qualifying, which takes place from 1:15-2:30 p.m. (ET) on the 2.5-mile oval (live, NBCSN and Peacock).

Then Castroneves, Hunter-Reay and Palou will join Scott Dixon (the fastest driver in the first day of qualifying Saturday), Colton Herta, Tony Kanaan, Ed Carpenter, Rinus VeeKay and Marcus Ericsson in the Firestone Fast Nine Shootout, which will determine the NTT P1 Award winner for pole and the starting order of the first three rows. That session takes place from 3-3:45 p.m. (live, NBC and Peacock).