Alex Palou

By the Numbers: Starting LineupPractice Results

NTT INDYCAR SERIES leader Alex Palou will start on the pole for the Genesys 300 tonight at Texas Motor Speedway, as the starting grid was set by championship entrant points after weather delays earlier today forced the cancellation of NTT P1 Award qualifying.

The race will start at 7 p.m. (ET) and be broadcast live on NBCSN and the INDYCAR Radio Network. Will Power will join Palou in the front row for the 212-lap race on the 1.5-mile oval.

2004 series champion Tony Kanaan will be a driver to watch in the race. Kanaan is starting 23rd in the 24-car field in the No. 48 Bryant Honda fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing, but he led the practice session this afternoon with a top lap of 220.173 mph. Kanaan is making his season debut, taking over the No. 48 from rookie Jimmie Johnson in the four oval races this season.

“When your teammates give you a good car, it makes your job a lot easier,” Kanaan said. “I’m happy to be back. It’s awesome that Chip and the whole team gave me this opportunity. Big shout-out to Jimmie Johnson for letting me drive his car. We’ll see what we can do.”

Pato O’Ward was second-quickest in the 90-minute practice, turning a top lap of 219.934 in the No. 5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet.

Reigning Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato was third at 219.868 in the No. 30 Panasonic/Mi-Jack Honda. Six-time series champion Scott Dixon was fourth at 219.723 in the No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, while 2016 series champion Simon Pagenaud rounded out the top five at 219.708 in the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet.

Pole sitter Palou was 11th-fastest in practice at 218.105 in the No. 10 NTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda. Fellow front-row starter Power ended up 16th at 216.560 in the No. 12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet.