Barber Motorsports Park
Mazda Grand Prix of Alabama Race 2
Barber Motorsports Park - Birmingham, AL
Barber Motorsports Park
Mazda Grand Prix of Alabama Race 2
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Barber Motorsports Park

On-Track Schedule

10:00 - 10:45 AM
View Session Results


Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports
Santi Urrutia
Team Pelfrey
Garett Grist
Juncos Racing

Race Recap

Birmingham, Ala. - Neil Alberico bounced back to prominence this morning for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, winning an action-packed Mazda Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park. The 22-year-old had struggled two weeks ago at NOLA Motorsports Park, finishing sixth after winning both opening rounds of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires at St. Petersburg, but his latest victory, added to a fourth-place finish yesterday, enabled him to stretch his championship lead to eight points, 130-122 over today's second-place finisher Santi Urrutia (Team Pelfrey).

Canadian Garett Grist also rediscovered some form to round out the podium for Juncos Racing after a difficult start to his 2015 campaign.

Malaysian Weiron Tan was in a perfect position to move closer into championship contention, starting from the pole after his convincing win yesterday, but his fortunes starting to go downhill even before the green flag when he edged fellow front row qualifier Timothe Buret (Juncos Racing) onto the grass on the exit of Turn 17 in anticipation of the start. Buret was fortunate to be able to rejoin, but not before losing many positions.

Alberico then made a decisive move around the outside at Turn One, sweeping past third-place qualifier Urrutia, and when Tan was penalized shortly thereafter for his indiscretion prior to the green flag and sent to the rear of the field, Alberico suddenly found himself in the lead.

An early full-course caution was necessary to remove some cones from the racing surface (which had been dislodged by Buret's errant car as well as a spin from Daniel Burkett of Cape Motorsports), and was quickly followed by another caution when Expert contender Jay Horak (M1 Racing) spun into the gravel trap at Turn Two.

Alberico then put his head down at the restart and soon began to stretch his lead over Urrutia, posting a series of fastest laps and increasing his advantage to over four seconds before another incident, this time involving Tan and Jose Gutierrez (Juncos Racing), led to the 30-minute race finishing under caution. Tan was subsequently penalized per Rule 10.3(e) Contact resulting in a loss of five points.

Grist took full advantage of the confusion at the start to jump from seventh on the grid to third, which he maintained to the finish ahead of teammate Will Owen and Florian Latorre (Cape Motorsports), who had overtaken Dalton Kellett (Andretti Autosport) for fifth on Lap 10.

While Horak claimed his second Expert Class victory of the season yesterday, Bobby Eberle (World Speed Motorsports) took top honors today - his third win on the 2015 calendar - with a 14th-place overall finish to maintain his lead in the point standings.

Grist's bold first-lap passes earned him the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award, the Quartermaster Hard Charger Award and the Staubli Award, while the PFC Award went to the winning team, Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing.

The Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires will continue with a triple-header as part of the Grand Prix of Indianapolis on May 7-9. The event will include an additional race to make up for Race Two at NOLA Motorsports Park which had been postponed due to adverse weather conditions.


About the track

Barber Motorsports Park

The 2.38-mile permanent road course has 17 flowing turns and features 80 feet of elevation change that challenge drivers and engineers. A 45-foot-wide racing ribbon also makes it imperative for patience while setting up overtaking opportunities.

Social Media

Twitter: @BarberMotorPark

Facebook: @BarberMotorsportsPark

Instagram: @barbermotorpark

Official Hashtag: #HIGPA

Past track winners

Harrison Scott (R2) / 2018
Parker Thompson (R1) / 2018
Patricio O'Ward (R2) / 2016
Patricio O'Ward (R1) / 2016
Neil Alberico (R2) / 2015
Weiron Tan (R1) / 2015
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2014
Spencer Pigot (R1) / 2014
Martin Scuncio (R2) / 2012
Jack Hawskworth (R1) / 2012
Tristan Vautier / 2011