Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Race 1
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Race 1
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Indianapolis Motor Speedway

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
9:15 - 9:45 AM
View Session Results
Practice 2
2:15 - 2:45 PM
View Session Results
5:55 - 6:30 PM
View Session Results


Weiron Tan
Andretti Autosport
Timothe Buret
Juncos Racing
Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports

Race Recap

Indianapolis, Ind. - This evening's rescheduled Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Grand Prix road course perhaps wasn't the prettiest - other than through the eyes of Malaysian Weiron Tan, who held on to score his second win of the season for Andretti Autosport and vault from sixth to third in the championship standings.

Frenchman Timothé Buret, driving for defending champion team Juncos Racing, claimed the fastest race lap en route to his second runner-up finish in the last three races. Californian Neil Alberico extended his championship lead by a few points by finishing third for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing.

Three caution periods interrupted the first of this week's three Pro Mazda races - held as a makeup for Round Four last month at NOLA Motorsports Park which was postponed due to inclement weather. Tan, who started from the pole on a grid that was set according to second fastest laps from qualifying at NOLA, managed to get a great jump ahead of the pack, so led clearly into the tight Turn One from Buret, who had leapt from fifth on the grid to second. 

Behind him, Pato O'Ward (Team Pelfrey) and Florian Latorre (Cape Motorsports), who had started second and fourth respectively, tangled at Turn Two, pitching the unfortunate Latorre into a lazy roll which ended with the 2013 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda winner's MAZDASPEED scholarship car upside down in the gravel trap. The Frenchman was fortunate to emerged unscathed.

Tan withstood a strong move at the restart from Buret, who was edged wide at Turn Two, allowing Alberico, up from eighth on the grid, to dive past into second place. Not for long. At the end of the back straightaway, Alberico made his move for the lead on the outside, only for the door to be firmly closed at the exit, which resulted in Tan maintaining his lead and Buret regaining second position.

The yellow flags were out again shortly thereafter due to another incident in Turn Seven involving Dalton Kellett (Andretti Autosport) and Kyle Connery (JDC MotorSports). Then, following another restart and four laps of green-flag racing, the Pace Car was summoned again when Parker Nicklin (JDC) ran off course in Turn Nine. Following a rapid cleanup, there was time for just a one-lap dash to the checkered flag. Tan again timed his restart to perfection, leaving Buret in his wake and taking the checkered flag 0.5689 seconds to the good.

Alberico, who earned the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for his impressive start, was content to settle for third ahead of his closest championship rival Santi Urrutia (Team Pelfrey), who again drove impressively after losing a lot of ground at the start and fighting his way from 11th to fourth at the close.

Garett Grist (Juncos Racing) muscled past O'Ward at Turn Seven on the final lap to snare fifth.

Bobby Eberle (World Speed Motorsports) finished 14th in the 21-car field to secure Expert class honors by just 0.4249 seconds over Bob Kaminsky (Kaminsky Racing), with Kevin Davis (JDC) a similar margin behind in third.

Scott Hargrove, who finished second in the 2014 title-chase and had secured a late deal to join JDC MotorSports, picked up the Quartermaster Hard Charger Award for finishing seventh from 16th on the grid. The PFC Award went to the winning team, Andretti Autosport, with the Staubli Award going to second-place finisher Buret.

Qualifying for the first of this week's regularly scheduled two races - the Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis - will take place at 10:15 a.m. EDT tomorrow, followed by Race One at 2:00 p.m. Live timing and commentary for all sessions will be available on the new Mazda Road to Indy App and at with live streaming on


About the track

Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course)

The 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course incorporates portions of Turns 1 and 2 and the frontstraight of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval and the remainder of the circuit is within the infield, allowing for great spectator viewing.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #INDYCARGP

Past track winners

Parker Thompson (R2) / 2018
Harrison Scott (R1) / 2018
Victor Franzoni (R2) / 2017
Victor Franzoni (R1) / 2017
Pato O'Ward (R2) / 2016
Pato O'Ward (R1) / 2016
Santiago Urrutia (R3) / 2015
Timothe Buret (R2) / 2015
Weiron Tan (R1) / 2015
Scott Hargrove (R2) / 2014
Scott Hargrove (R1) / 2014