Pipo Derani Tom Blomqvist

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and Daytona International Speedway, the site of this weekend’s 62nd Rolex 24 At Daytona, are both owned and operated by NASCAR. Lately, though, this prestigious endurance race has received INDYCAR flair with current NTT INDYCAR SERIES teams totaling nine overall victories on the 3.56-mile road course since 2006.

The last four years, a full-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver (Scott Dixon 2020 with Chip Ganassi Racing, Alexander Rossi 2021 with Wayne Taylor Racing, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud 2022 and 2023 with Meyer Shank Racing) each was a vital part of the team that crossed the finish line first.

SEE: Rolex 24 Qualifying Results | Rolex 24 Entry List

For this year’s edition, there’s no shortage of drivers who can extend this streak to five in a row.

Eleven of the top 13 in last year’s NTT INDYCAR SERIES points standings, including the top six, will compete in the twice-around-the-clock classic. Among them include six of the last seven series championship winners and each of the last two Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge victors.

Chip Ganassi Racing headlines the list in its No. 01 Cadillac GTP (Grand Touring Prototype) car. The team will have two of its INDYCAR SERIES drivers sharing the seat that earned a podium finish in 2023 after leading the second-most laps (198) across the 24-hour endurance race.

Six-time INDYCAR SERIES champion and three-time overall Rolex 24 winner Scott Dixon (2006, 2015, 2020 winner) is one of the No. 01 CGR drivers and has high hopes of becoming just the seventh driver to eclipse four or more Rolex watches in the twice-around-the-clock race. A fourth win would move him into a tie with Pedro Rodriguez (1963, 1964, 1970, 1971), Bob Wollek (1983, 1985, 1989, 1991), Peter Gregg (1973, 1975, 1976, 1978) and Rolf Stommelen (1968, 1978, 1980, 1982) for third all time.

“I always look forward to Daytona,” Dixon said. “It’s a great way to kick off the season. I feel like we had a really good shot last year. The car speed was really good. The team has done a good job in the offseason to make things a little bit smoother and better. The key is always to stay out of trouble and make sure you finish the 24 hours first and then hopefully have a good shot at trying to get a win.”

Dixon is joined by reigning NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion, Alex Palou, who’ll make his second Rolex 24 start in the last three years in the premier GTP class.

“I'm very excited to return to Daytona after competing with the team in the DPi era in 2022,” Palou said. “I can't wait to get behind the wheel of the new hybrid, and it will be a great way to start the year early with such a great team and with such great teammates.”

Their two other teammates are Renger van der Zande and four-time INDYCAR SERIES champion and 2014 Rolex 24 winner, Sebastien Bourdais. The team will start second overall at 1:40 p.m. ET Saturday after Bourdais’ strong qualifying run behind pole winner Pipo Derani on Sunday.

Between Dixon, Palou and Bourdais, there are 12 combined INDYCAR SERIES championships in a seat that’s won a record-setting six overall Rolex 24 At Daytona races.

They’ll have a fight on their hands with a pair of Porsche Penske Motorsport GTP entries. One of the drivers of the No. 7 Porsche 963 is Josef Newgarden, who delivered Team Penske its 19th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge victory last May. Penske Racing won this race once (1969, with drivers Mark Donohue and Chuck Parsons) and chases a second this weekend.

Andretti Global, after its first overall Rolex 24 victory, brings two of its three INDYCAR SERIES drivers (Colton Herta, Marcus Ericsson) to race in its two GTP cars at Daytona. Kyle Kirkwood will suit up to race again in the No. 14 Lexus RC for reigning champions Vasser Sullivan in GTD Pro.

The Andretti Global team will stay with ideal partner Wayne Taylor Racing for the second consecutive year with its pair of Acura ARX-06 GTP cars. WTR has won this race four times (2017, 2019, 2020, 2021), including three of the last five years. The two sides hope this alliance adds a fourth consecutive overall victory for Acura.

While BMW M Team RLL (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) won’t feature any of its three INDYCAR SERIES drivers in its two BMW M Hybrid V8’s, several other INDYCAR SERIES teams have signed off on their drivers competing to stay sharp.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Tom Blomqvist, entering his first full NTT INDYCAR SERIES season this year, headlines that list. He’s a two-time reigning Rolex 24 At Daytona overall winner with Meyer Shank, which isn’t competing this year in IMSA to focus on its INDYCAR SERIES program. He’s joined the reigning WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GTP champions, Whelen Cadillac Racing, in the No. 31 Cadillac V-Series.R entry with Pipo Derani and Jack Aitken. Derani drove that car to the GTP and overall pole Sunday.

His MSR teammate, Felix Rosenqvist, will race the No. 22 United Autosports USA entry in Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2). Rosenqvist’s former team, Arrow McLaren, will have two of its three drivers competing. Pato O’Ward is in LMP2 (No. 2 United Autosports USA) in a sister car to Rosenqvist’s.

Scott McLaughlin (No. 8 Tower Motorsports in LMP2) isn’t with Penske but is in the race. Joining McLaughlin, O’Ward and Rosenqvist in LMP2 is last year’s INDY NXT by Firestone champion Christian Rasmussen, who is running a partial NTT INDYCAR SERIES season this year with Ed Carpenter Racing. Rasmussen will drive the No. 18 of Era Motorsports at Daytona.

LMP2 also features a recent INDY NXT by Firestone graduate and another driver who looks to race for a championship this season in the INDYCAR development series. Chip Ganassi Racing NTT INDYCAR SERIES rookie Kyffin Simpson will share the No. 81 DragonSpeed LMP2 car, while expected INDY NXT title contender Nolan Siegel is driving on the No. 33 Sean Creech Motorsport team.

Rossi, a 2021 Rolex 24 At Daytona overall winner with Wayne Taylor Racing, is in GTD Pro with the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports McLaren 720S. He’ll be joined by fellow podcast co-host, former NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver and current NBC Sports broadcaster James Hinchcliffe. They’ll try and hold off Grosjean, who’s driving the No. 60 Iron Lynx Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2 in the GTD Pro class.

Live coverage of the Rolex 24 At Daytona starts from 1:30-2:30 p.m. ET Saturday on NBC, continuing from 2:30-8 p.m. and 10-11:59 p.m. on the USA Network. Sunday coverage takes place from 6 a.m.-noon on USA and noon-2 p.m. on NBC.

All 24 hours of the race will be streamed live on Peacock.