Roger Penske

Roger Penske will receive an Autosport Gold Medal for his immeasurable contributions to global motorsports during the Autosport Awards ceremony Dec. 4 in London.

The Gold Medal is the highest accolade of the annual Autosport Awards ceremony. It recognizes an individual who has given a lifetime of service to the sport, leaving a legacy for future generations.

Penske is an icon of worldwide auto racing, winning as a sports car driver early in his career and continuing his winning ways as owner of Team Penske since hanging up his driving gloves in 1965.

Team Penske is synonymous with winning. The team has captured a staggering 17 championships, 18 Indianapolis 500 victories and 231 race victories in INDYCAR SERIES competition. In the NASCAR Cup and Xfinity Series, Team Penske has won 10 championships, three Daytona 500s and 219 races.

Even at age 85, Roger Penske’s thirst for winning hasn’t been slaked. Team Penske recorded one of its best seasons ever in 2022, sweeping the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and NASCAR Cup Series titles in the same season for the first time, with drivers Will Power and Joey Logano, respectively. The team also pushed its overall victory total in all racing disciplines past 600 this season.

Team Penske also has enjoyed success outside of the INDYCAR SERIES and NASCAR. Penske drivers also have taken checkered flags in Formula One, Trans-Am, Can-Am, IMSA and V8 Supercars. Besides its success on the Indianapolis and the Daytona ovals, Team Penske also has won the Rolex 24 At Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring.

Roger Penske also added a new dimension to his motorsports empire by purchasing the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and INDYCAR in January 2020, leading both into a new era of continued success and stability for the future.

Another member of Team Penske could also be on stage at Grosvenor House in London, as 2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Power was one of four nominees for International Driver of the Year, along with Formula One drivers Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc and Formula E driver Stoffel Vandoorne.