2020 NTT INDYCAR SERIES Open Test at Circuit of The Americas

The NTT INDYCAR SERIES and its teams are set for a full day of testing today at Circuit of The Americas.

Inclement weather kept the action to a minimum Tuesday. Only 12 cars turned a total of 17 controlled laps, all run during yellow-flag conditions as rain and temperatures in the 40s prevailed.

This full-field test is the first major event of the 2020 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season. Today's session is from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Central Time (local) with a 30-minute break for lunch at noon, and it will be streamed live on INDYCAR.com and the INDYCAR Mobile App.

Twenty-seven drivers in 25 cars are participating this week, including two-time defending Virgin Australia Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin driving for Team Penske. The 26-year-old New Zealander is part of a lineup featuring reigning NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Josef Newgarden, 2019 Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge winner Simon Pagenaud and previous series and 2018 Indianapolis 500 champion Will Power. McLaughlin is scheduled to make his NTT INDYCAR SERIES debut in the season's fifth race, the GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday, May 9.

The test features five-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Scott Dixon leading Chip Ganassi Racing's expanded three-car lineup, two-time race winner Colton Herta making his debut with Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport, and Arrow McLaren SP fielding Pato O'Ward and Oliver Askew, the past two champions of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires.

In addition to McLaughlin and Askew, the rookie class features Indy Lights runner-up Rinus VeeKay of Ed Carpenter Racing, Alex Palou of Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh and Dalton Kellett of AJ Foyt Racing. Kellett will share a car this season with four-time Indy car champion Sebastien Bourdais.

Tony Kanaan, who recently announced a five-race oval track schedule with AJ Foyt Racing for his final season in 2020, and NBC broadcaster Paul Tracy is part of the announcing team that includes Kevin Lee, Jake Query and Katie Hargitt.

The NTT INDYCAR SERIES season begins with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on Sunday, March 15. All 17 races will be broadcast by NBC and the NBC Sports Network. The 104th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge airs on NBC on Sunday, May 24.

Circuit of The Americas will host the fourth race of the season, the AutoNation INDYCAR Challenge on Sunday, April 26.