Scott Dixon

FORT WORTH, Texas – Scott Dixon put a stranglehold on the second half of the DXC Technology, leading the final 119 laps at Texas Motor Speedway to win and move into sole possession of third place on the all-time Indy car victory list.

Dixon, driving the No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, won by 4.2943 seconds over Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud to collect win No. 43 in his 18-year career. The four-time Verizon IndyCar Series champion had moved into a tie for career wins with Michael Andretti just a week ago when he won the first race of the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix doubleheader on June 2.

DXC TECHNOLOGY 600: Unofficial results

Starting seventh, Dixon methodically climbed his way toward the front. He took the race lead for the first time on Lap 130 of 248 on the high-banked oval hosting its 30th Verizon IndyCar Series race since the track opened in 1997.

Robert WickensThe 37-year-old New Zealander didn’t surrender the point the rest of the way to pick up his third win at Texas Motor Speedway. The others came in 2008 and 2015.

Alexander Rossi finished third in the No. 27 NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda for Andretti Autosport, with James Hinchcliffe finishing fourth in the No. 5 Arrow Electronics Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda.

The race saw a total of 686 on-track passes and three caution periods. Matheus “Matt” Leist pulled off track with flames shooting from the back of his No. 4 ABC Supply AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet on Lap 7. There wasn’t another yellow until Lap 173, when Robert Wickens and Ed Carpenter touched heading into Turn 3, sending both cars into the SAFER Barrier.

The final caution flag waved on Lap 205, when Will Power and Zachary Claman De Melo collided in Turn 4, ending the night for both drivers. None of the drivers was injured in any incident.

With the win, Dixon claimed the unofficial points lead after nine of 17 Verizon IndyCar Series races. He takes a 23-point lead over Rossi into the next event, the KOHLER Grand Prix at Road America on June 24 (12:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN and Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network).