James Hinchcliffe

Standardized push-to-pass parameters again are among the sporting and technical regulations incorporated into the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series rulebook released this week.

Push-to-pass, which was introduced to the engine-chassis package in July 2012 on the streets of Toronto, will have parameters for each of the 11 road/street course events. The option gives drivers a turbocharger boost to 161 kPa and additional 200 RPM with the push of a button located on the steering wheel.

There’s no delay in activation or refresh time.

Verizon IndyCar Series drivers will have 10 uses of the overtake system for all road/street course races, with 20 seconds per push at NOLA Motorsports Park, Long Beach, Barber Motorsports Park, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, Toronto and Mid-Ohio.

Races at Brasilia (Brazil), St. Petersburg, Detroit (two races) and Sonoma Raceway will carry 15 seconds per activation.

Fans invited to watch Pro Mazda, USF2000 teams at NOLA

Three Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and two Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda cars will inaugurate the recently renovated NOLA Motorsports Park in Avondale, La., on Dec. 8-9.

Fans can watch the cars supplied by Andretti Autosport and Team Pelfrey on the 2.67-mile circuit at no charge both days.

The facility will host an Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires test Feb. 18, followed by the first half of the Mazda Road to Indy Winterfest for Pro Mazda and USF2000 drivers and teams.

The first Indy Grand Prix of Louisiana at NOLA Motorsports Park, featuring the Verizon IndyCar Series and all three rungs of the Mazda Road to Indy, is April 10-12.

Donate canned goods, drive a go-kart

Sarah Fisher Racing Development will announce its 2015 plans for driver Kyle O'Gara at 7 p.m. Dec. 4 at Fast Times Karting in Indianapolis.

The event is open to the public and tied to the seventh 12 Days of Christmas Food Drive operated by CFH Racing. Fans who donate canned good(s) between 7-10 p.m. will have the opportunity to participate in free open karting.


Third Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy Scholarship Shootout on tap

Sebring International Raceway will host the third Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy Scholarship Shootout on Dec. 15-17.

The event is designed to provide aspiring racers without prior racing experience the opportunity to launch a career in motorsports. The winner of the competition will receive a scholarship toward the Skip Barber Regional Race Series.

Michai Stephens, who was the 2013 winner, was named a Team USA Scholarship recipient earlier this year and finished third in the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone in England last month. In the Academy, drivers are tested in equally-prepared cars on a demanding circuit. Racers applied for the Academy after graduating from a three-day Skip Barber Formula Car Racing School and are required to follow that training with an Advanced Two-Day Racing School.

Of note

Disabled Sports USA, which provides adaptive sports opportunities for people with disabilities to develop independence, confidence and fitness through sports, announced that Michael Johnson is the scholarship recipient for the National Race Festival at The Hardford Ski Spectacular in Breckenridge, Colo., this week. A native of Flint, Mich., Johnson is the first and only paralyzed driver licensed by INDYCAR to compete in the Mazda Road. He competed in Pro Mazda in 2014 with JDC Motorsports.