Fan Info - INDYCAR 101 - Road To Indy - What Is The Mazda Road To Indy?

What is the Road to Indy?

Road To Indy

The success of the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires – one of the most successful driver development programs in the world – as a springboard to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES has never been more apparent. The 2020 NTT INDYCAR SERIES grid is peppered with recent graduates such as Oliver Askew, Rinus VeeKay, Patricio O’Ward, Colton Herta, Kyle Kaiser, Jack Harvey, Zach Veach, Felix Rosenqvist and Matheus Leist who will align with former alumni including Josef Newgarden, Max Chilton, Ed Jones and Spencer Pigot.

The Road to Indy provides a unique, scholarship-funded path to reach the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and Indianapolis 500 with prizes and awards on offer to help drivers take the next steps in their careers.

Since its launch in 2010, the INDYCAR-sanctioned ladder system has attracted competitors from around the globe. Drivers from Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Dubai, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Guyana, India, Ireland, Italy, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Russia, Spain, South Africa, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Venezuela and Zimbabwe have been part of the grids, showcasing their talents at premier venues on a mix of road courses, temporary street circuits and ovals.

The Progression Steps

The first rung on the Road to Indy ladder is the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship, a revival of the highly regarded USF2000 series which ran from 1990 through 2006. The goal of the series is to provide a professional, entry-level open-wheel training ground serving as the first step on the ladder to a NTT INDYCAR SERIES career.

From there, drivers move on to the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, formerly known as the Pro Mazda and Star Mazda Championships, whose graduates include Marco Andretti, Gabby Chaves, Conor Daly, James Hinchcliffe, Spencer Pigot, Graham Rahal and Zach Veach to name a few.

From Indy Pro 2000, drivers graduate into Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires. For over 30 years, Indy Lights has been a vital step for competitors to reach the pinnacle of open-wheel racing in America, boasting over 100 drivers as graduates.

Road To Indy Progression

By The Numbers

Seven of the most recent graduates have NTT INDYCAR SERIES rides planned for 2020 (Askew, VeeKay, Harvey, Herta, O’Ward, Rosenqvist, Veach)

25 of the 33 starters in the 2018 Indianapolis 500 were Road to Indy graduates including the past five Indy Lights champions; in total 11 Indy Lights champions were on the grid.

Since 2010, 33 Indy Lights drivers have made career starts in the NTT IndyCar Series.

Since the inception of Indy Lights in 1986, 137 drivers have made NTT IndyCar Series starts.

All but three of the 33 Indy Lights champions in series history have moved up to the NTT IndyCar Series.


Andersen Promotions oversees all three levels of the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires. The company has a long and successful background in promoting open-wheel championships and has also owned multiple race teams – including USF2000, Indy Pro 2000 and Indy Lights teams – in the past. In 2010, Andersen Promotions relaunched the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship, which it operated from 1992 through 2001. In December of 2012, Andersen Promotions founded the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires to replace the void left by the Star Mazda Series which ceased operations after 22 years. On July 12, 2013, it was announced that Andersen Promotions would take over the licensing and operation of Indy Lights from INDYCAR beginning with the 2014 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season.

Principals of Andersen Promotions include Dan Andersen, Owner/CEO, and Michelle Kish, COO.

Andersen Promotions
10101 U.S. Highway 41 North
Palmetto, FL 34221

Public Relations Director
Tamy Valkosky
Office: 949.459.9172
Cell: 949.842.3946

Public Relations Coordinator
Diane Swintal
Cell: 949.439.7871