Fan Info - INDYCAR 101 - Road To Indy - Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires

Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires

Indy LIghts Presented by Cooper Tires

The third and final step on the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires debuted as Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires in 2014. Sanctioned by INDYCAR, the series is operated by Andersen Promotions, which oversees all three levels of the ladder system including the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship and the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires.

The Indy Lights champion is awarded a scholarship toward the NTT IndyCar Series with three guaranteed races including the Indianapolis 500. Team and driver per-race and season-ending prize packages include unique driver awards such as the Tilton Hard Charger, Hi-Tide Kids on Track Spirit Award and the AiM Move of the Season Award.

The highly acclaimed series, which has a rich history dating back to 1986 as a development platform for many of today’s top drivers, was transformed in 2015 with the introduction of a new equipment package to complement the arrival of Cooper Tires as the Official Tire of Indy Lights and presenting sponsor in 2014.

Indy Lights holds the record for the closest finishes ever on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval – the stunners coming in 2016 with Dean Stoneman over Ed Jones by 0.0024 seconds, and the four-wide finish in 2013 with Peter Dempsey winning over Gabby Chaves, Sage Karam and Carlos Munoz by 0.0026 seconds.

The series’ mission is simple – to develop and advance – and that includes not only drivers, but teams and personnel as well as witnessed by the progression of Carlin, Juncos Racing and Harding Steinbrenner Racing into the NTT IndyCar Series.

Patricio O’Ward of Andretti Autosport won the 2018 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires championship.


Indy Lights has produced some of the NTT IndyCar Series’ biggest names during its 33-year history. Its 100+ graduates include Scott Dixon, James Hinchcliffe, Tony Kanaan and Josef Newgarden to name a few. More recently, several Indy Lights champions and front-runners have gone on to pursue their dream of racing in the NTT IndyCar Series and the famed Indianapolis 500. Among them are Gabby Chaves, Jack Harvey, Colton Herta, Ed Jones, Kyle Kaiser, Matheus Leist, Patricio O’Ward, Spencer Pigot and Felix Rosenqvist. Since 2010, 33 Indy Lights alumni have reached the NTT IndyCar Series ranks. In 2018, 25 of the 33 starters in the Indianapolis 500 were Indy Lights graduates, including its past five champions.