Championship Points System

NTT INDYCAR SERIES Championship Points

The NTT INDYCAR SERIES recognizes entrant, driver and manufacturer champions. To facilitate competition for these championships, INDYCAR calculates and publicizes complete rankings of all participating entrants, drivers and manufacturers following each race.

Entrant and Driver Points Championships

The series has established the following system under which eligible entrants and drivers may accumulate points:

  • Entrant points will be credited only to an entrant holding a valid entrant’s license at the time of the event, competing with a properly registered car and displaying the assigned car number throughout any event.
  • Driver points will be credited only to drivers holding a valid driver’s license at the time of the event.
  • In the event the starting driver receives relief during the running of a race, the starting driver will receive the points for that car for the race. The relief driver will not receive any points for driving that car.
  • If a Car participates in practice and/or Qualifications, but is unable to start a Race, the Driver and/or the Entrant shall receive half of the points the Car would have received for the Race had the Car started the Race.

At the close of the season, the entrant and driver with the highest number of ranking points respectively shall be declared the NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion.

In the case of a tie, INDYCAR will determine the champion based on the most first-place finishes. If there is still a tie, INDYCAR will determine the champion by the most second-place finishes, then the most thirdplace finishes, etc., until a champion is determined. INDYCAR will apply the same system to other ties in the rankings at the close of the season and at any other time during the season.

Race Finish Points
Position Pts Position Pts Position Pts
1 50 12 18 23 7
2 40 13 17 24 6
3 35 14 16 25 5
4 32 15 15 26 5
5 30 16 14 27 5
6 28 17 13 28 5
7 26 18 12 29 5
8 24 19 11 30 5
9 22 20 10 31 5
10 20 21 9 32 5
11 19 22 8 33 5
Pole Award: 1 point
Leading At Least One Lap: 1 point
Most Laps Led: 2 points

Also, entrant and driver points will be awarded for Indianapolis 500 qualifying based on final qualifying results as follows:

  • The fastest qualifying entrant and driver (pole sitter) will receive 12 points, second fastest will receive 11 points and points awarded will decrease by one-point increments down to 12th fastest (1 point).