Portland International Raceway
Grand Prix of Portland Race 2
Portland International Raceway - Portland, OR
Portland International Raceway
Grand Prix of Portland Race 2
Network To Be Announced
INDYCAR Radio Network
Portland International Raceway
About the track

Portland International Raceway opened in 1961 on the former location of the city of Vanport, destroyed by the Memorial Day 1948 flood. The 12-turn, 1.967-mile natural road course is relatively flat, but contains several passing opportunities, including a quick chicane at the end of the frontstretch, a hard-breaking right-hand Turn 7 leading onto the sweeping backstretch, and a three-turn complex leading back onto the fronstretch. Al Unser Jr. won the first Indy car race in 1984. In 1997, the race set the now current all-time record for the closest two-car and closest three-car finish in Indy car racing history on a road course. Mark Blundell beat second place Gil de Ferran by 0.027 seconds, and beat third place Raul Boesel by 0.055 second, in a three-wide finish.

Past track winners
Damien Faulkner / 2001
Jason Bright / 2000
Philipp Peter / 1999
Guy Smith / 1998
Hideki Noda / 1997
Gualter Salles / 1996
Greg Moore / 1995
Andre Ribeiro / 1994
Franck Freon / 1993
Franck Freon / 1992
Eric Bachelart / 1991
Paul Tracy / 1990
Tommy Byrne / 1989
Tommy Byrne / 1988