Portland International Raceway
Grand Prix of Portland Race 1
Portland International Raceway - Portland, OR
Portland International Raceway
Grand Prix of Portland Race 1
Network To Be Announced
INDYCAR Radio Network


About the track

Portland International Raceway

Portland International Raceway opened in 1961 on the former location of the city of Vanport, which was destroyed by the Memorial Day 1948 flood. The 12-turn, 1.964-mile natural road course is relatively flat but contains several spots for passing opportunities, including a quick chicane at the end of the frontstretch, a hard-braking right-hander (Turn 7) leading onto the sweeping backstretch, and a three-turn complex leading back onto the fronstretch. Al Unser Jr. won the first Indy car race in 1984. In 1997, the race set the now current all-time record for the closest two-car and closest three-car finish in Indy car racing history on a road course. Mark Blundell beat second-place Gil de Ferran by 0.027 of a second, and beat third-place Raul Boesel by 0.055 of a second, in a three-wide finish.

Social Media

Twitter: @Portland_GP

Facebook: @PortlandGP

Instagram: @portland_gp

Official Hashtag: #PortlandGP

Past track winners

Damien Faulkner / 2001
Jason Bright / 2000
Philipp Peter / 1999
Guy Smith / 1998
Hideki Noda / 1997
Gualter Salles / 1996
Greg Moore / 1995
Andre Ribeiro / 1994
Franck Freon / 1993
Franck Freon / 1992
Eric Bachelart / 1991
Paul Tracy / 1990
Tommy Byrne / 1989
Tommy Byrne / 1988