Laguna Seca
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca - Race 1
WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca - Salinas, CA
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca - Race 1
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

11:00 - 12:00 PM
View Session Results
3:00 - 3:30 PM
View Session Results
7:40 PM - 8:10 PM
View Session Results


Alex Baron
Afterburner Autosport
Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports
Wyatt Gooden
Afterburner Autosport

Race Recap

Monterey, Calif. – French teenager Alexandre Baron scored a stunning debut victory today in the Allied Building Products Grand Prix at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in Round 11 of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda.

Baron, 18, from Narbonne, France, had tested only once before for the Afterburner Autosport team, but took to the USF2000 cars like a seasoned veteran, claiming the Minnesota-based squad’s first-ever pole position and then leading throughout an incident-packed 16-lap race to secure the team’s maiden victory.

Championship leader Scott Hargrove qualified second fastest ahead of Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing teammate Neil Alberico. Baron got a good jump at his first-ever rolling start, but when he left the door open under braking for the Mario Andretti Hairpin at Turn Two, Hargrove glimpsed an opportunity to dive to the inside and fill the gap.

Moments later, as Baron attempted to maintain his advantage, the two leaders made contact which dislodged the nosecone on Hargrove’s #38 Analytic Sysems/Race/Energy/Metal Action/Skip Barber Racing/Bell Racing Van Diemen-Mazda. Alberico, from Los Gatos, Calif., but racing for the very first time on his “home” circuit, managed to sneak past into second place on the exit of Turn One, by which time Baron already had made his escape

The Frenchman led Alberico by over 2.5 seconds at the completion of Lap 1, with Wyatt Gooden, in a second Afterburner car, third ahead of Englishman Michael Epps (Belardi Auto Racing), who had made a startling getaway from eighth on the grid. Baron’s advantage was negated soon afterward due to separate incidents at Turn Three and Turn 11.

Baron again took off in the lead at the restart, this time with Alberico hot on his heels. The two leaders were never separated by more than a second, but Alberico wasn’t quite able to get close enough to make a challenge and had to settle for second place when the race finished under caution after 16 laps following another pair of incidents farther down the field.

Gooden, from Cleveland, Ohio, finished third – his first podium appearance since Round 4 at St. Petersburg in March – while Garett Grist, from Grimsby, Ont., Canada, fresh off his first victory in the most recent race at Mid-Ohio, passed Epps on Lap 9 to claim fourth for Andretti Autosport.

Another newcomer, Scott Andrews, from Torquay, Victoria, Australia, also posted an impressive performance in finishing sixth for JDC MotorSports. Andrews had posted the fastest time in practice this morning but qualified only 10th after losing his best lap time due to causing a red flag stoppage during qualifying when he spun at Turn Four. A strong start saw him rise to seventh on the opening lap, which became sixth when Hargrove made a pit stop to replace his damaged nosecone during the first caution period.

Hargrove resumed in 20th before fighting his way back to 11th at the checkered flag. Hargrove now holds a 31-point advantage over Alberico with three races remaining. Ryan Verra of Alliance Autosport, from Calgary, Alb., Canada, claimed his first National Class victory following a race-long battle with fellow Canadian James Dayson (ArmsUp Motorsports).

Contingency awards included the Tilton Hard Charger Award to Florian Latorre of JAY Motorsports who advanced from 16th to seventh, the Staubli Award to Baron, the PFC Award to the winning car owners of Afterburner Autosport and Alliance Autosport and the National Class Masters Award Presented by Elite/Comprent to Verra.


About the track

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca (previously known as Laguna Seca Raceway) is a paved road racing track used for both auto racing and motorcycle racing, originally constructed in 1957 near both Salinas and Monterey, California, USA.

The current racetrack is 2.238 miles (3.602 km) in length with a 300 foot (91 m) elevation change. It has eleven turns, including the famous "Corkscrew" at Turns 8 and 8A. A variety of racing, exhibition and entertainment events are held at the raceway, ranging from superkarts to American Le Mans racing to music festivals.

The name Laguna Seca is Spanish for "dry lake". The area where the track is was originally a lake. The course was originally built around the lake, which has since dried up entirely. An artificial pond has since been added.

Social Media

Twitter: @WeatherTechRcwy

Facebook: @WeatherTechRaceway

Official Hashtag: #FirestoneGP

Past track winners

Victor Franzoni (R2) / 2016
Victor Franzoni (R1) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2015
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2015
Scott Hargrove (R2) / 2013
Alex Baron (R1) / 2013
Mikhail Goikhberg (R2) / 2010
Scott Rarick (R1) / 2010