Laguna Seca
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca - Race 2
WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca - Salinas, CA
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca - Race 2
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

11:10 - 11:40 AM
View Session Results


Scott Hargrove
Cape Motorsports
Garett Grist
Andretti Autosport
Alex Baron
Afterburner Autosport

Race Recap

MONTEREY, Calif. – Canadian Scott Hargrove strengthened his lead in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda this morning by virtue of a commanding victory in the Allied Building Products Grand Prix at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Since teammate and closest title rival Neil Alberico could manage no better than fourth place in today’s 12th round of the championship, Hargrove now holds a healthy 44-point advantage with only two races remaining at Reliant Park in Houston, Texas, on October 5/6.

Hargrove and Alberico also secured a second successive Team Championship for Florida-based Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing this weekend.

Hargrove, 18, from Vancouver, B.C., Canada, started from the outside of the front row of the grid for the second day running, alongside yesterday’s debut race winner Alexandre “Alex” Baron (Afterburner Autosport), then took the lead on Lap 2 when Baron made a mistake and ran off the road at the exit of Turn Six. Hargrove remained in control for the remainder of the race. His comfortable margin of almost three seconds over fellow Canadian Garett Grist (Andretti Autosport) was erased by a full-course caution after eight laps, when National Class contender James Dayson crashed in Turn Four, but Hargrove held his nerve during a one-lap dash to the checkered flag to cement the victory – his fourth of the season but first since St. Petersburg in March – by 1.160 seconds. 

Baron, who holds dual English and French citizenship, held his pole advantage at the start over Hargrove, while Grist was able to make a move around fellow second row starter Alberico going into Turn Two. The top four quickly distanced themselves from the chasing pack which was led by ever-improving Canadian Daniel Burkett, from Winnipeg, Manitoba, who headed the five-car Belardi Auto Racing challenge.

Baron’s mistake on Lap 2 dropped him to fourth position, where he remained until the final lap, when a late lunge to the inside under braking for the Corkscrew moved him to a podium finish. Alberico, from Los Gatos, Calif., had to be content with fourth ahead of Burkett, who easily bettered his previous best finish of ninth.

Wyatt Gooden, from Cleveland, Ohio, capped an excellent weekend for Afterburner Autosport by accelerating past Jason Wolfe (Pabst Racing Services) at the late restart to snare sixth place, while 16-year-old Frenchman Florian Latorre posted another strong drive for JAY Motorsports, sneaking past Wolfe on the final lap for seventh.

Australian newcomer Scott Andrews finished ninth for JDC MotorSports, narrowly ahead of Florida teenager RC Enerson, who climbed from 16th to 10th for ZSports with Team E Racing, and Norwegian Henrik Furuseth (PRL Racing), who claimed the Tilton Hard Charger Award by surging from 18th on the grid to 11th.

Ryan Verra scored his second USF2000 National Class Presented by SCCA Enterprises victory in as many days to maintain the Alliance Autosport team’s 100 percent record in 2013.

Additional contingency awards included the Staubli Award to Burkett, the PFC Award to the winning car owners of Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing and Alliance Autosport and the National Class Masters Award Presented by Elite/Comprent to Verra.


About the track

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca (previously known as Laguna Seca Raceway) is a paved road racing track used for both auto racing and motorcycle racing, originally constructed in 1957 near both Salinas and Monterey, California, USA.

The current racetrack is 2.238 miles (3.602 km) in length with a 300 foot (91 m) elevation change. It has eleven turns, including the famous "Corkscrew" at Turns 8 and 8A. A variety of racing, exhibition and entertainment events are held at the raceway, ranging from superkarts to American Le Mans racing to music festivals.

The name Laguna Seca is Spanish for "dry lake". The area where the track is was originally a lake. The course was originally built around the lake, which has since dried up entirely. An artificial pond has since been added.

Past track winners

Victor Franzoni (R2) / 2016
Victor Franzoni (R1) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2015
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2015
Scott Hargrove (R2) / 2013
Alex Baron (R1) / 2013
Mikhail Goikhberg (R2) / 2010
Scott Rarick (R1) / 2010