Texas Motor Speedway
Firestone 550
Race Complete


Justin Wilson
Dale Coyne Racing
Graham Rahal
Ryan Briscoe
Team Penske

Race Recap

From 17th on the starting grid, Justin Wilson, the driver of the No. 18 Sonny's BBQ car for Dale Coyne Racing, charged to the front -- overtaking Graham Rahal's mishandling car on Lap 226 of 228 -- to win the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway.

It was the first IZOD IndyCar Series oval victory for Wilson, who led Rahal across the start-finish line by 3.9202 seconds. Ryan Briscoe finished third and James Hinchcliffe was fourth. All four led multiple laps in the fast and furious race.

"It's just fantastic," said Wilson, who previous best IZOD IndyCar Series oval finish was seventh. "Dale has put so much into making us competitive, so this one is for him and (wife) Gail and the team. I just can’t believe we managed to pull this off.  The car was fantastic, and on the long runs it just got better and better."

Rahal appeared to be on his way to his first oval victory, but the No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing car brushed the Turn 4 wall as he was fighting understeer.

"I saw him sliding more and more every lap, and I didn’t think there was a chance," Wilson said. "But when I saw him hit the wall, I thought, 'OK, now it’s time to go.' It was four-wheel drifting all the way into Turn 3 and all the way out of Turn 4.  You were having to hang on out there."

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

About the track

Texas Motor Speedway

Repaved and redesigned in 2017, Texas Motor Speedway features 20 degrees of banking in Turns 1 and 2 and 24 degrees of banking in Turns 3 and 4 and the wide (minimum 60 feet) racing surface has produced many memorable moments since the series began racing at the 1.5-mile oval in 1997.

Social Media

Twitter: @TXMotorSpeedway

Facebook: @texasmotorspeedway

Instagram: @txmotorspeedway

Official Hashtag: #Genesys300

Past track winners

Scott Dixon 2020
Josef Newgarden 2019
Scott Dixon 2018
Will Power 2017
Graham Rahal 2016
Scott Dixon 2015
Ed Carpenter 2014
Helio Castroneves 2013
Justin Wilson 2012
Will Power 2011
Dario Franchitti 2011
Ryan Briscoe 2010
Helio Castroneves 2009
Scott Dixon 2008
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2007
Helio Castroneves 2006
Tomas Scheckter 2005
Helio Castroneves 2004
Tony Kanaan 2004
Gil de Ferran 2003
Al Unser, Jr. 2003
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2002
Jeff Ward 2002
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2001
Scott Sharp 2001
Scott Goodyear 2000
Scott Sharp 2000
Mark Dismore 1999
Scott Goodyear 1999
John Paul, Jr. 1998
Billy Boat 1998
Arie Luyendyk 1997