Will Power

After spending the last two months evaluating raw loop timing and scoring data from all Verizon IndyCar Series tracks to determine the best driver of 2018 in several statistically driven categories, it’s time to hand out the Speedy Award for "Driver of the Year."

Like most Driver of the Year Awards, it could be named for A.J. Foyt or Mario Andretti … but we don’t have that long to debate whose career was better. But this year’s winner wasn’t that hard to decide.

The three finalists for the award were the top three drivers in the championship point standings – Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi and Will Power.

But this year’s winner not only won the most Speedy Award categories – earning the Arie Luyendyk Speed Demon Award for ovals and the “Average Running Position” Award – he also tied for the series lead in the more traditional categories with three wins, four poles and 11 races led.

The Speedy Award “Driver of the Year” for 2018 is Will Power of Team Penske. The reigning Indianapolis 500 winner excelled in many categories but finished third in the championship mainly because he failed to finish in four races. By comparison, season champion Dixon completed all 17 races and only finished outside the top six on two occasions.

So the inaugural Speedway Award “Driver of the Year” is Will Power.

Previous Speedy Awards distributed this year were:

Alex Zanardi “Overtaker of the Year” (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/10/10-08-Speedys-Overtaker)

Closer (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/10/10-15-Speedys-Closer)

Restart King (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/10/10-22-Speedy-Restart-King)

Most Valuable Pit Crew (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/10/10-30-Speedy-Awards-Pit-Crew)

“Excuse Me, Coming Through” Trophy (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/11/11-05-Speedy-Awards-Coming-Through-Trophy)

Average Running Position (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/11/11-12-Speedy-Average-Running-Position)

Arie Luyendyk Speed Demons/Push to Pass Award (https://www.indycar.com/News/2018/11/11-19-Speedys-Speed-Demon