Will Power

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana – Team Penske reached a milestone in Indy car qualifying today, as well as extending its Verizon P1 Award domination at the INDYCAR Grand Prix and for the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season.

The renowned team with more race wins and pole positions than anyone in Indy car history earned its 250th pole position when Will Power turned the fastest lap in the Firestone Fast Six, the climactic third and final round of knockout qualifying for Saturday’s fourth annual INDYCAR Grand Prix. It is also the fifth pole for Team Penske in as many series races this season and its third straight on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.439-mile, 14-turn road circuit.

Scott DixonINDYCAR GRAND PRIX: Unofficial qualifying results

Power’s lap of 1 minute, 7.7044 seconds (129.687 mph) in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet broke the track record he set in qualifying last year on the road course. Power won the INDYCAR Grand Prix from the pole in 2015. It is also the 47th pole position of Power’s 13-year Indy car career, the fifth-best total all time.

Teammate Helio Castroneves qualified second in the No. 3 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, at 1:08.1169. The Brazilian who celebrated his 42nd birthday this week will start from the front row Saturday for the fourth consecutive race.

Team Penske drivers Josef Newgarden and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified third and fifth, respectively, to give the juggernaut an armada up front for Saturday’s 85-lap race (3:30 p.m., ABC and Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network). The fifth Team Penske driver, defending race winner and series champion Simon Pagenaud, will start eighth.

Scott Dixon qualified fourth in the No. 9 NTT Data Honda. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver has reached the Firestone Fast Six at all four road/street events this season.

Sebastien Bourdais, winner of the season opener at St. Petersburg in March, qualified sixth.