Auto Club Speedway

MAVTV 500 INDYCAR Championship

TV: NBCSN telecasts the race live (9 p.m. ET Aug. 30) and qualifications (7 p.m. ET Aug. 29). Leigh Diffey is the chief announcer. Paul Tracy and Townsend Bell are the analysts. The pre-race show includes Tracy interviewing his former team owner, Roger Penske.

Radio/web: All Verizon IndyCar Series on-track sessions are broadcast on and the INDYCAR 14 app in conjunction with real-time Timing & Scoring. In addition, the race will be broadcast on IMS Radio Network affiliates, XM 209 and Sirius 213. Paul Page is the chief announcer. … Also, the drivers meeting at 8 p.m. Aug. 30 will be streamed live on the INDYCAR 14 app.

Live practice and qualifications streaming: Live streaming of the Aug. 29 Verizon IndyCar Series practice sessions and single-car qualifications will be on, incorporating Timing & Scoring and the IMS Radio Network broadcast.

Twitter: @ACSupdates, @IndyCar, #MAVTV500

Click it: Entry list || Get tickets

Weekend schedule (all times Eastern):

Friday, Aug. 29 – 1 p.m. Verizon IndyCar Series practice
                             5:15 p.m. Verizon IndyCar Series qualifications
                             8:30 p.m. Verizon IndyCar Series practice

Saturday, Aug. 30 – 9 p.m. NBCSN on air

Weather forecast: Sunny both days; highs in the 80s, cooling through the race.

Qualifications: Single-car qualifying on the 2--mile D-shaped oval. A qualifying attempt consists of two consecutively timed laps. Order is determined by blind draw. … Will Power (1:05.2247, 220.775 mph) was the pole winner in 2013, which is the two-lap track record.

Race laps: 250

Pit boxes: 40 feet

Tires: Firestone will supply the same tire compound and construction as used in the 2013 race.

Fuel: 80 U.S. gallons of E85 for practice and qualifications … 127 gallons for race. … Between seven and 10 pit stops was the norm in the 2013 race. The first, under green, came between Laps 35-38.

Engines: 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V6s supplied by Chevrolet and Honda ... 140 kPa turbo boost for ovals.

2013: Will Power earned his first victory on a superspeedway by finishing 1.4883 seconds ahead of 2012 race winner Ed Carpenter over the 500 miles. Tony Kanaan finished third and James Hinchcliffe was fourth.

For spectators:  A Verizon IndyCar Series autograph session is from 4-5 p.m. (local) Aug. 30 at the INDYCAR Fan Village outside the main grandstand. … Lee DeWyze, the 2010 winner of “American Idol,” will sing the national anthem before the race. ... Public events Aug. 28 and 31 in Los Angeles will feature drivers. On Aug. 28 at The Grove (189 The Grove Drive), title contenders Will Power, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud will greet fans from noon-2 p.m. There will be ticket giveaways, IndyCars on display and simulated pit stop demonstrations near the center’s popular fountain. On Aug. 31, fans are welcome to take in the 4 p.m. red carpet festivities preceding the INDYCAR Championship Celebration at the LA LIVE entertainment complex (800 Olympic Blvd.). SPEEDWAY INFO

Of note: This is the ninth consecutive season that the Verizon IndyCar Series champion will be determined in the season finale. … Power enters with a 51-point advantage over Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves. He is 81 points ahead of Simon Pagenaud of Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports. A total of 104 points is available – 100 for the victory plus bonus points for earning the Verizon P1 Award (one point), leading a lap (one points) and leading the most race laps (two points). POINTS POSSIBILITIES … It is the fifth year in a row that a driver from Team Penske will compete for the Verizon IndyCar Series championship in the finale. Power has been the runner-up in three of those years; Castroneves placed second to Scott Dixon in 2013. … Team Penske last won a driver/entrant championship in 2006 with Sam Hornish Jr. … Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport is the Sunoco Rookie of the Year points leader. … Ryan Hunter-Reay (Indianapolis 500) and Juan Pablo Montoya (Pocono Raceway) won the other 500-mile races this season. … Five drivers who have won the pole at Auto Club Speedway are entered in the MAVTV 500. … Dario Franchitti (2005) and Will Power (2013) are the only drivers to win at Auto Club Speedway from the pole position. ... The INDYCAR Championship Celebration on Aug. 31 will be streamed live on starting at 7 p.m. (ET).


History: The first Indy car race at Auto Club Speedway (nee California Speedway) was on Sept. 28, 1997. Mauricio Gugelmin won the pole and Mark Blundell won the race. The MAVTV 500 will be the 13th race at the track. CART and Champ Car held six Indy car races at Auto Club Speedway from 1997-2002. … Jimmy Vasser (1998, 2002), Adrian Fernandez (1999, 2004) and Sam Hornish Jr. (2002, 2003) are the only drivers to win more than once. Ed Carpenter (2012) and Will Power (2013) are the only other former winners entered in the race.