Texas Motor Speedway

FONTANA, Calif. – Texas Motor Speedway announced today that it will retain its traditional date on the Verizon IndyCar Series calendar for 2015.

The Firestone 600 will be contested June 4-6 and be telecast on NBCSN. It is the 19th consecutive season that the track in Fort Worth will host a Verizon IndyCar Series race.

Ed Carpenter held off Will Power and three other drivers on a restart in the final three laps this past June to win for the first time at the 1.5-mile, high-banked oval.

"I am very happy to hear that the Verizon IndyCar Series will be heading back to Texas next year," said Carpenter, owner/driver of the No. 20 Fuzzy's Ultra Premium Vodka car for Ed Carpenter Racing. "I have always enjoyed racing at the track. Our races have changed a lot over the years, but it has always been one of the best stops on the schedule.

"Our Texas win in 2014 has been the highlight of my season so far this year, and I cannot wait to come back next year as the defending champion of the race. Texas Motor Speedway has been such a great partner for the Verizon IndyCar Series, so it only makes sense that we will be coming back in 2015 for our 27th race at the track."

Season tickets for 2015 go on sale beginning Oct. 27. For more information, contact the Texas Motor Speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500 or visit www.texasmotorspeedway.com.


Pagenaud's crew earns Firestone award

With a total pit lane time of 111.532 seconds, the No. 77 Schmidt Peterson Hamilton crew won the Firestone Pit Stop Performance Award during the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Simon Pagenaud, who started 15th in the 85-lap race on the 2.385-mile, 12-turn road course, finished third. The Schmidt Peterson Hamilton crew will receive their $10,000 award during pre-race festivities at the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway on Aug. 30.

Kimball continues to lead TAG Heuer standings

Charlie Kimball continues to lead the TAG Heuer Don't Crack Under Pressure award, but Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Jack Hawksworth isn't far behind wth one race remaining.

The $25,000 prize will be award to the driver who advances the most cumulative positions over the season at the INDYCAR Championship Celebration on Aug. 31 at Club Nokia in Los Angeles. 

Kimball, driver of the No. 83 Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing car, has advanced his position relative to his starting spot a total of 98 places through the 17 races. Hawksworth, driver of the No. 98 BHA/BBM Autosport car, has advanced a total of 86 positions.

Of note

For another year, Al Unser’s Triple Crown accomplishment remains intact. Ryan Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500 and Juan Pablo Montoya won the Pocono INDYCAR 500 fueled by Sunoco. The MAVTV 500 on the 2-mile superspeedway is the final leg. Unser is the only driver to win all the Triple Crown races in one year: 1978 – Indianapolis, Pocono and Ontario. … Lee DeWyze, the 2010 winner of “American Idol,” will sing the national anthem before the race. ... INDYCAR director of medical services Dr. Michael Olinger will be the principal speaker at a conference for first responders next week in Brazil. ... Josef Newgarden and Justin Wilson will be hosted by the Microsoft Experience facility in Venice, Calif., on Aug. 28 as they compete against each another and online gamers in a Forza 5 challenge. The challenge is the culmination of a fundraising effort to benefit Los Angeles-based Teen Cancer America.