Danial Frost

Danial Frost will stay with HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing for his third season of Indy Lights racing in 2023, team officials announced Sept. 29.

Frost earned his first career Lights victory in 2022, winning the first race of the Indy Lights Grand Prix of Indianapolis doubleheader in May on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course in the No. 68 HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing car. Frost, a 20-year-old native of Singapore, finished seventh in the season standings.

In his second season with HMD Motorsports, Frost again will work with his 2022 season engineer, Mike Reggio. Den-Jet also returns as his personal sponsor.

“I am excited to be back with HMD Motorsports and continue with the same program as I had in 2022,” Frost said. “I have the opportunity for one of the first times in my career to work with the same engineer in back-to-back seasons, which I feel will reap benefits. The goal is simple for us as a team in 2023, and I can’t wait to get started.”

Before joining Indy Lights with Andretti Autosport in 2021, Frost competed in the Road to Indy ladder system. He raced a partial season in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship in 2018, followed by two full seasons in Indy Pro 2000 Presented by Cooper Tires in 2019 and 2020. He recorded two Indy Pro 2000 victories over those two seasons and finished third in the championship in 2020.

“It is great to have Danial back for a second season and hopefully a championship-winning season,” HMD Motorsports General Manager Mike Maurini said. “Danial returns to the team as one of the veteran drivers and a leader, so we are expecting big things from him. I know his goal is the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, and we hope that we can help him get there.”

Frost will participate in the annual Chris Griffis Test on Oct. 21 at IMS, followed by another test Oct. 24 at Barber Motorsports Park.

HMD earlier revealed plans to field eight cars in Indy Lights in 2023. Besides Frost, the team so far has announced fellow returnee Christian Bogle and Lights newcomer Josh Green as drivers for next season.