Desert Diamond Phoenix Grand Prix
Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix
Phoenix Raceway - Avondale, AZ
Phoenix International Raceway - Phoenix, Arizona
Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
1:00 - 2:15 PM ET
View Session Results
5:00 - 6:05 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice Final
9:15 - 9:45 PM ET
View Session Results
9:05 - 11:20 PM ET
View Session Results


Scott Dixon
Chip Ganassi Racing
Simon Pagenaud
Team Penske
Will Power
Team Penske

Race Recap

AVONDALE, Ariz. -- In the heat of the desert, the "Ice Man" lived up to his nickname by remaining cool all the way to Victory Lane.

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon won the Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix at Phoenix International Raceway under caution after rookie Alexander Rossi made contact with the wall two laps from the finish of the 250-lap event. It was the first career win at PIR for both Dixon and Chip Ganassi Racing Teams (in any race series).

Dixon started sixth in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet and went on to earn the 39th win of his Indy car career, tying him with Al Unser for fourth in all-time victories. The race marked the return of the series to Phoenix International Raceway's historic 1.022-mile oval for the first time since Sam Hornish Jr. won in 2005.

Dixon also set an Indy car record by winning a race for the 12 consecutive season. He was previously deadlocked at 11 with Bobby Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi and Helio Castroneves. It was also the 101st Indy car win for the Ganassi team.

“It was tough, definitely one of the toughest races on these short ovals,” said Dixon, the four-time Verizon IndyCar Series titlist. “The car was super-fast. I think we had the best car out there on strategies and pit stops.”

Dixon now has 20 wins on oval tracks and 19 on road/street courses. He will attempt to even that number up in the next race on April 17, the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (4 p.m. ET, NBCSN and Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network), where Dixon is the defending race winner.

“We definitely had bad luck at St. Pete (finishing seventh), but we’re a strong team,” Dixon said. “If we can figure it out at the start of the season, it’ll make it a little easier for us.”

Simon Pagenaud, in the No, 22 DeVilbiss Team Penske Chevrolet, finished second for the second consecutive race and took over the lead in the Verizon IndyCar Series points standings for the first time in his career. Unofficially, Pagenaud has 83 points and leads Dixon by four.

“That’s good news,” Pagenaud said. “That’s exactly what we want to do. This is not our strong suit, short ovals, but if we can be strong, that’s a good sign.”

Pagenaud gave credit where it was due. “I was loose, loose, loose at the beginning of the race,” he said. “But my engineer (Ben Bretzman) made an adjustment and my car woke up.”

Will Power, who missed the season opener two weeks ago at the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg due to an inner ear infection, finished a strong third in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

“I’m really happy to finish third. Missing the first race and dealing with a few health issues, I was just happy to complete the race in a great position,” Power said. “I got more energy as I went along. I was worried about this being my first race and how physical it was, but have to give it to the Verizon guys and pit crew tonight. They were awesome and I had a lot of fun tonight. Congrats to Dixon.”

Tony Kanaan finished fourth in the No. 10 GE LED Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet. Graham Rahal was the top-finishing Honda driver, placing fifth in the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

“We charged at the end and at the end it was fun,” Kanaan said. “We missed an opportunity to be on the podium. We have to improve a couple of things. … It was tough racing.”

Added Rahal, “It was tough to pass. I felt like I had a really good race car. Unfortunately, our competition had about a 5 mph advantage on us, I feel like. I was just doing everything I could to get it.”

The highest-finishing rookie was Max Chilton, who placed seventh in his first Verizon IndyCar Series race on an oval in the No. 8 Gallagher Chip Ganassi Racing Chevy.

“Chip Ganassi gave me a fantastic car,” Chilton said. “Obviously, Scott won this event, TK (Kanaan) flew past me with about 10-15 to go, so maybe I didn’t have necessarily the fastest car, but I think as a team we had a very, very strong car.

“I think there was a few mistakes I made as a rookie, just because I hadn’t experienced it before, where we could have been top two or three. I’m really happy with what we came away with this evening.”

A couple early front-runners had issues in the first half of the race. Team Penske pilots Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya both cut right-front tires that forced them to pit from the lead. Castroneves led the first 39 laps from the pole in the No. 3 REV Group Chevrolet and Montoya, who won the St. Pete season opener, led the next 56 laps in the No. 2 Verizon Chevy. Dixon was the third and last race leader, pacing the field the final 155 laps.

The race saw five caution periods for a total of 56 laps. 

About the track

Phoenix International Raceway

ISM Raceway is a one-mile, low-banked tri-oval race track located in Avondale, Arizona, just outside of Phoenix. Opened in 1964 with a currently-estimated grandstand seating capacity of around 67,000. Lights were installed around the track in 2004. One of the signature features of the is the "dogleg" at the exit of Turn 2, to which in 2019 will see the start-finish line moved to the "dogleg". A.J. Foyt won the track's first oval race, a 100-mile USAC event at an average speed of 107.536 mph.

Social Media

Twitter: @ISMRaceway

Facebook: @ISMRaceway

Instagram: @ISMRaceway

Official Hashtag: #DesertDiamondPGP

Past track winners

Josef Newgarden 2018
Simon Pagenaud 2017
Scott Dixon 2016
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2005
Tony Kanaan 2004
Tony Kanaan 2003
Helio Castroneves 2002
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2001
Buddy Lazier 2000
Scott Goodyear 1999
Scott Sharp 1998
Jim Guthrie 1997
Arie Luyendyk 1996
Robby Gordon 1995
Emerson Fittipaldi 1994
Mario Andretti 1993
Bobby Rahal 1992
Arie Luyendyk 1991
Rick Mears 1990
Rick Mears 1989
Mario Andretti 1988
Roberto Guerrero 1987
Michael Andretti 1986
Kevin Cogan 1986
Al Unser 1985
Bobby Rahal 1984
Tom Sneva 1984
Teo Fabi 1983
Tom Sneva 1982
Rick Mears 1982
Tom Sneva 1981
Johnny Rutherford 1981
Tom Sneva 1980
Al Unser 1979
Gordon Johncock 1979
Johnny Rutherford 1978
Gordon Johncock 1978
Gordon Johncock 1977
Johnny Rutherford 1977
Al Unser 1976
Bobby Unser 1976
A.J. Foyt 1975
Johnny Rutherford 1975
Gordon Johncock 1974
Mike Mosley 1974
Gordon Johncock 1973
Bobby Unser 1972
Bobby Unser 1972
A.J. Foyt 1971
Al Unser 1971
Swede Savage 1970
Al Unser 1970
Al Unser 1969
George Follmer 1969
Gary Bettenhausen 1968
Bobby Unser 1968
Mario Andretti 1967
Lloyd Ruby 1967
Mario Andretti 1966
Jim McElreath 1966
A.J. Foyt 1965
Don Branson 1965
Lloyd Ruby 1964
A.J. Foyt 1964