Texas Motor Speedway
Firestone 600
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
12:00 - 1:15 PM ET
View Session Results
4:15 - 5:15 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice Final
7:45 PM - 8:15 PM ET
View Session Results
8:40 - 10:45 PM ET
View Session Results


Scott Dixon
Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Tony Kanaan
NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing
Helio Castroneves
Team Penske

Race Recap

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Scott Dixon made his victory in the Firestone 600 look easy, though the three-time Verizon IndyCar Series champion said it was one of the most hotly-contested and unpredictable in recent memory at Texas Motor Speedway.

Dixon led 97 of the 248 laps in the No. 9 Energizer EcoAdvanced Chevrolet to earn his second victory of the Verizon IndyCar Series season and his second at Texas Motor Speedway in the fast-paced race on the 1.455-mile, high-banked oval.

The 191.940 mph average speed set a track race record, which was aided by a lone caution for debris.

Chip Ganassi Racing Teams teammate Tony Kanaan finished 7.8000 seconds behind in the No. 10 NTT Group Chevrolet. Helio Castroneves, who has won four times on the 1.455-mile, high-banked oval, finished third in the No. 3 AAA Insurance Team Penske Chevrolet.

It was the 99th Indy car victory for team owner Chip Ganassi, and his longest-tenured driver picked up his 37th Indy car win. Dixon, who also won at Long Beach in mid-April, stretched his streak to 10 years with multiple wins.

“It’s never easy. Even toward the second-to-last stint we were just trying to make changes to the car,” said Dixon, who grabbed the lead in a pit stop exchange on Lap 194 and led all but one lap over the distance.

“It didn’t start awfully good because we had a lot of understeer in the car, but once we got the balance right the car was basically on rails. With the pit stop exchange we got the lead and then the car was just very good in traffic and were able to keep the speed up. I knew once we got the balance right we could get up there and duel with (Kanaan) to the end.

“This racing is great and you’ve got to give Firestone a lot of credit. They give us a tire that is very durable and safe.”

There were 14 lead changes among nine drivers.

Dixon also won at the superspeedway on June 7, 2008 -- one of his six victories on the way to his second Verizon IndyCar Series championship. He is third in the standings through nine of 16 races – 43 points behind front-runner Juan Pablo Montoya heading to the June 14 Honda Indy Toronto, where he swept a doubleheader on the street circuit in 2013.

Kanaan, who earned his 121st Indy car top-five finish, led 57 laps mid-race.

"One-two for the team, I'm happy," said Kanaan, who won at Texas Motor Speedway on June 12, 2004, and returned in October to celebrate his series championship. “It was a great race.”

Montoya increased his points advantage to 35 over Team Penske teammate Will Power with a fourth-place finish. Marco Andretti, who started 11th in the No. 27 Snapple Honda for Andretti Autosport, placed fifth for his third consecutive top five. Power, the pole sitter, led seven laps but faded to 13th in the No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.


About the track

Texas Motor Speedway

Repaved and redesigned in 2017, Texas Motor Speedway features 20 degrees of banking in Turns 1 and 2 and 24 degrees of banking in Turns 3 and 4 and the wide (minimum 60 feet) racing surface has produced many memorable moments since the series began racing at the 1.5-mile oval in 1997.

Social Media

Twitter: @TXMotorSpeedway

Facebook: @texasmotorspeedway

Instagram: @txmotorspeedway

Official Hashtag: #Genesys300

Past track winners

Scott Dixon 2020
Josef Newgarden 2019
Scott Dixon 2018
Will Power 2017
Graham Rahal 2016
Scott Dixon 2015
Ed Carpenter 2014
Helio Castroneves 2013
Justin Wilson 2012
Will Power 2011
Dario Franchitti 2011
Ryan Briscoe 2010
Helio Castroneves 2009
Scott Dixon 2008
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2007
Helio Castroneves 2006
Tomas Scheckter 2005
Helio Castroneves 2004
Tony Kanaan 2004
Gil de Ferran 2003
Al Unser, Jr. 2003
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2002
Jeff Ward 2002
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2001
Scott Sharp 2001
Scott Goodyear 2000
Scott Sharp 2000
Mark Dismore 1999
Scott Goodyear 1999
John Paul, Jr. 1998
Billy Boat 1998
Arie Luyendyk 1997