Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Race 2
Streets of Toronto - Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Streets of Toronto
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Race 2
Race Complete
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

On-Track Schedule

11:45 - 12:55 PM
View Session Results


Spencer Pigot
Juncos Racing
Jack Harvey
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Ed Jones

Race Recap

TORONTO - Spencer Pigot survived a race under challenging conditions to make a clean sweep of the doubleheader weekend on the streets of Toronto. The victory helps the Juncos Racing driver re-enter the championship discussion after a difficult "Month of May" at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The fourth career Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires win for the 21-year-old was also his twenty-second career trip to the top step of a Mazda Road To Indy podium.  

An eventful Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Powered by Mazda race, which saw only three cars finish on the lead lap, began with intensifying rain. 

Polesitter Pigot led the field to the green flag but the first start attempt to go racing on the 1.755-mile, 11-turn Exhibition Place circuit was waved off when fellow front row starter Ed Jones spun coming to the green flag. The 20-year-old pilot was able to keep going but sustained minor damage to his front wing after making light contact with the wall. The native of the UAE also had contact with the No. 5 of Juan Piedrahita in Turn 8 later in the race, but the Carlin Racing crew was able to quickly replace damaged front wings in both instances and Jones was able to stay on the lead lap to come home third for his fifth podium of the season.

Championship leader Jack Harvey drove a smart race to earn his eighteenth career Indy Lights podium. The Schmidt Peterson driver started fifth and made one of the nicer passes of the race on Lap 2 when he went under former Formula 1 driver Nelson Piquet Jr of Carlin in Turn 3.  However, the Lincoln, England native had nothing for Pigot as he could get no closer than 1.7 seconds in the closing ten laps.  

The final turn of the circuit proved to be tricky in wet conditions. Scott Anderson (SPM with Curb-Agajanian), RC Enerson (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian), Shelby Blackstock (Andretti Autosport) and Felix Serralles (Belardi Auto Racing) all sustained damage after having single car incidents in the quick left-hander.  

Piquet Jr, the current FIA Formula E Championship leader who started fourth for Carlin, had his race end early when he was hit from behind in Turn 3 for the second day in a row.  

Despite losing two laps after contact with Jones, Belardi Auto Racing's Piedrahita was able to fight back to a fourth-place finish and score a career-best result.

After a horrific crash in Saturday's race, Enerson's Schmidt Peterson crew were hard at work until 3:00 a.m. rebuilding the Lucas Oil sponsored No. 7 entry. The 18-year-old started third and moved to second when Jones spun on the first lap. The New Port Richey, Florida driver was impressively hounding Pigot until he spun coming to the green flag on the first restart on Lap 8. His team was able to make repairs and Enerson crossed the line in fifth.  

The race was originally scheduled for 45-laps or 60-minutes but was shortened to 30 laps when the weather began to worsen. 

Felix Serralles of Belardi Auto Racing earned the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for his pass of Piquet Jr on Lap 4.


About the track

Streets of Toronto

The tight 11-turn, 1.786-mile Exhibition Place street circuit offers great views of downtown Toronto and often leads to cars attempting to squeeze past each other in turns. Many times, only one car makes it out unscathed. The long frontstretch leading into the Prince's Gate at Turn 1 and the Lakeshore Boulevard straight leading into a hard 90-degree right-hander at Turn 3 are the best places for overtaking.

Social Media

Twitter: @hondaindy

Facebook: @hondaindytoronto

Instagram: @hondaindy

Official Hashtag: #IndyTO

Past track winners

Santi Urrutia (R2) / 2018
Patricio O'Ward (R1) / 2018
Kyle Kaiser (R2) / 2017
Kyle Kaiser (R1) / 2017
Felix Rosenqvist (R2) / 2016
Felix Rosenqvist (R1) / 2016
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2015
Spencer Pigot (R1) / 2015
Alex Baron / 2014
Jack Hawksworth / 2013
Gustavo Yacaman / 2012
Stefan Wilson / 2011
JK Vernay / 2010
Sebastian Saavedra / 2009
Townsend Bell / 2001
Geoff Boss / 1999
Guy Smith / 1998
Helio Castroneves / 1997
Gualter Salles / 1996
Greg Moore / 1995
Steve Robertson / 1994
Bryan Herta / 1993
Bryan Herta / 1992
PJ Jones / 1991
Paul Tracy / 1990
Gary Rubio / 1989
Calvin Fish / 1988
Tommy Byrne / 1987
Fabrizio Barbazza / 1986