St. Petersburg
Mazda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Race 1
Streets of St. Petersburg - St. Petersburg, FL
Streets of St. Petersburg
Mazda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Race 1
Race Complete
St. Petersburg
Streets of St. Petersburg
About the track

The 1.8-mile, 14-turn (5 lefts, 9 rights) circuit incorporates streets of downtown St. Petersburg and a section of runway of Albert Whitted Airport. After the long frontstretch, there's a tight right-hander into Turn 1 and then a quick left-hand turn. Plenty of drivers have gotten into trouble in these two turns over the years. There are two other long straights with heavy braking zones that afford opportunities to overtake.


Pole Position:
1:00.0658 (107.882 MPH) - Will Power (2016)

Race Lap:
1:01.8607 (104.751 MPH) - Helio Castroneves (2015)

Race Time:
2:04:32.4153 (95.351 MPH) - Sebastien Bourdais (2017, 110 Laps)

Race Review

St. Petersburg, Fla.  - The changing of the guard in Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires was readily apparent in the first of two races that will comprise this weekend's Mazda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Presented by Peninsula Pipeline. The top level of the Mazda Road to Indy debuted a brand-new Dallara IL-15 chassis and 2.0-liter turbocharged Mazda MZR-R engine, so perhaps it was appropriate that a rookie team and driver should take the top honors. In this case it was Englishman Ed Jones and European powerhouse open-wheel team Carlin which showed the way with a dominating performance.

Jones, 20, obliterated the old Indy Lights lap record in qualifying, setting the pace with a lap at 1:05.3193, more than a second inside the old record set in 2010 by current Verizon IndyCar Series star James Hinchcliffe. Jones duly continued that form in the race, taking the lead at the start and then, following a full-course caution on Lap 2 due to an incident involving Max Chilton (Carlin) and Felix Serralles (Belardi Auto Racing), edged clear almost at will. Jones' final margin of victory after 30 laps was a comfortable 3.7085 seconds over last year's championship runner-up Jack Harvey (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian).

Spencer Pigot (Juncos Racing), last year's winner of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and MAZDASPEED scholarship, made a fine start to jump from fifth to third, behind Harvey. The move earned Pigot the Replay XD Move of the Race Award. Pigot, from Orlando, Fla., then dived to the inside of Harvey under braking for Turn 10, only to slide wide on the exit and relinquish his position once again to the Englishman. Their positions remained unchanged thereafter to secure the final two spots on the podium.

Scott Hargrove also made a strong debut for 8Star Motorsports. The Canadian, who finished a close second in the 2014 Pro Mazda championship, lost some ground at the start but quickly gained it back. Hargrove spent the remainder of the race fending off a determined challenge from fellow Pro Mazda graduate Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing).

Colombian Juan Piedrahita finished fifth in a second Belardi Auto Racing Dallara-Mazda, following a race-long battle with Scott Anderson (Schmidt Peterson).

The protagonists will return tomorrow morning for Race 2 of the Mazda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Presented by Peninsula Pipeline at 12:45 pm ET.


Top Three Positions
Ed Jones
Jack Harvey
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Spencer Pigot
Juncos Racing
Past track winners
Santi Urrutia (R2) / 2018
Pato O'Ward (R1) / 2018
Colton Herta (R2) / 2017
Aaron Telitz (R1) / 2017
Felix Rosenqvist (R2) / 2016
Felix Serralles (R1) / 2016
Ed Jones (R2) / 2015
Ed Jones (R1) / 2015
Zach Veach / 2014
Jack Hawksworth / 2013
Tristan Vautier / 2012
Josef Newgarden / 2011
JK Vernay / 2010
Junior Strous / 2009
Junior Strous / 2009
Richard Antinucci / 2008
Raphael Matos / 2008
Alex Lloyd / 2007
Alex Lloyd / 2007
Raphael Matos / 2006
Raphael Matos / 2006
Marco Andretti / 2005