Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Race 2
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course - Lexington, OH
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Race 2
Race Complete
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

On-Track Schedule

10:30 - 11:35 AM
View Session Results


Sean Rayhall
8Star Motorsports
Max Chilton
Spencer Pigot
Juncos Racing

Race Recap

Lexington, Ohio – The battle for this year’s Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires crown, as well as a prize of entry into three rounds of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series, including the historic 100th Indianapolis 500, has heated up dramatically following an action-packed 38-lap Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Powered by Mazda. Sean Rayhall, who is undertaking only a partial campaign with 8Star Motorsports, emerged to take his second win of the season after two of the three main championship protagonists, Ed Jones and Jack Harvey, collided while battling for the lead.

Rayhall measured his pace to perfection, crossing the line less than a second clear of Carlin’s ex-Formula 1 driver Max Chilton, who recorded his third successive podium finish. Spencer Pigot finished third for Juncos Racing and now trails Harvey by only six points, 301-295, with two races remaining at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, Calif., on September 11-13.

Harvey started from the pole for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian, but was beaten away from the rolling start by Carlin’s Jones. Felix Serralles (Belardi Auto Racing) slotted into third ahead of Rayhall, Chilton and yesterday’s race winner RC Enerson (Schmidt Peterson).

A problem for Serralles dropped him out of contention on Lap 3, and two laps later came the only caution period of the race after Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) and Scott Anderson (Schmidt Peterson) made contact at Turn Nine.

Jones continued to lead at the restart but remained under intense pressure from Harvey, with Rayhall holding a watching brief in third. Harvey tried a couple of times to make a pass for the lead, only to be rebuffed. Finally, on Lap 21, he made his move to the inside under braking for Turn Four. Jones resolutely stuck to his guns until contact was made and both cars spun. Harvey continued, albeit with a badly deranged front wing. He eventually finished a disgruntled 10th.

Jones served a drive-through penalty after he was adjudged guilty of avoidable contact but was able to recover to ninth place and remain third in the points chase, 18 markers adrift of Harvey.

The incident allowed Rayhall to take over the lead. The 20-year-old from Winston, Ga., was content to run a consistent pace, allowing his advantage to dwindle from almost three seconds to less than one second at the checkered flag.

Serralles recovered to fifth ahead of Shelby Blackstock (Andretti Autosport), Ethan Ringel and Anderson, who posted the fastest lap of the race on the very last lap and took home the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for the manner in which he fought past both Harvey and Jones in one bold maneuver at Turn Two on Lap 31.


About the track

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

The 2.258-mile, 13-turn natural-terrain road course offers a little of everything -- elevation changes, high-speed corners, flowing corners, tight corners, a narrow (40 feet) racing ribbon and a challenging entry to pit lane.

Social Media

Twitter: @Mid_Ohio

Facebook: @MidOhioSportsCarCourse

Instagram: @officialmidohio

Official Hashtag: #Honda200

Past track winners

Nico Jamin (R2) / 2017
Santiago Urrutia (R1) / 2017
Santiago Urrutia (R2) / 2016
Santiago Urrutia (R1) / 2016
Sean Rayhall (R2) / 2015
RC Enerson (R1) / 2015
Jack Harvey (R2) / 2014
Jack Harvey (R1) / 2014
Gabby Chaves / 2013
Martin Plowman / 2010
James Davison / 2009
James Davison / 2008
Raphael Matos / 2008
Richard Antinucci / 2007
Townsend Bell / 2001
Townsend Bell / 2000
Andre Ribeiro / 1994
Bryan Herta / 1993
Robbie Groff / 1992
Brian Till / 1991
Paul Tracy / 1990
PJ Jones / 1989
Jon Beekhuis / 1988
Juan Manuel Fangio II / 1987
Steve Millen / 1986