Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Mazda Grand Prix Of Indianapolis Race 2
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
Mazda Grand Prix Of Indianapolis Race 2
Race Complete
Indianapolis Motor Speedway

On-Track Schedule

Practice Final
10:00 - 10:15 AM
View Session Results
1:25 - 2:25 PM
View Session Results


Sean Rayhall
8Star Motorsports
RC Enerson
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Max Chilton

Race Recap

Indianapolis, Ind. - Sean Rayhall scored an emotional and well-deserved victory for 8Star Motorsports in today's Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Presented by Cooper Tires on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's 2.439-mile Grand Prix road course. Rayhall, 20, from Winston, Ga., grasped the lead at the start of Round Seven of Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires and held on to win despite almost race-long pressure from yesterday's winner and 2014 Indy Lights championship runner-up Jack Harvey.

Unfortunately for Harvey, a mechanical problem on the final lap dropped him to an unrepresentative fifth, allowing Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian teammate RC Enerson and ex-Formula 1 racer Max Chilton (Carlin) to round out the podium.

Rayhall made a perfect getaway from the outside of the front row and managed to draft his way pass polesitter Ed Jones (Carlin) before Turn One. Behind, contact between Harvey and Jones sent the latter into a spin from which he was fortunate to emerge unscathed, albeit at the tail of the field. Several other contenders also were delayed. Felix Serralles (Belardi Auto Racing), meanwhile, emerged in third, from ninth on the grid, ahead of Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing).

An incident at Turn One on Lap Four ensured a full-course yellow and ended the day for erstwhile championship leader Spencer Pigot, whose disappointing weekend ended with his Juncos Racing MAZDASPEED Scholarship Dallara-Mazda beached in the gravel at Turn Three.

Rayhall, best known for his sports car exploits, in particular winning the 2013 Cooper Tires Prototype Lites Championship Powered by Mazda, again made good his escape at the restart, while Serralles managed to sneak past Harvey for second.

Harvey redressed the balance on Lap 13 and slowly, inexorably began to reduce what was almost a three-second deficit to just one second with seven laps remaining in the 35-lap race. All the while, though, he was concerned by a warning light in the cockpit due to rising engine temperatures. A helmet visor tear-off had become lodged in the engine intake. Rayhall managed to maintain his advantage at around one second until, cruelly, with less than half a lap remaining, the electronics in Harvey's car cried enough and the engine went into "limp mode."

Enerson, 18, from New Port Richey, Fla., was the biggest beneficiary, but it was no more than he deserved following an impressive drive through the field after being forced to take evasive action during the first-lap fracas. Englishman Chilton also mounted a fine charge, rising from ninth on Lap One to third, setting a new lap record of 1:16.4012 (114.925 mph) along the way. [The previous mark of 1:20.6470 = 108.874 mph was set by Matthew Brabham in 2014.] Teammate Jones virtually matched his pace in climbing from last to fourth.

The result enabled Jones to retake the championship points lead by 166-162 over Harvey, with Pigot trailing just seven points farther behind in third as the series prepares for its signature race of the season, the Freedom 100, on the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval on May 22 as part of the #MRTI FreedomFest weekend which leads up to the 99th Indianapolis 500.


About the track

Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course)

The 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course incorporates portions of Turns 1 and 2 and the frontstraight of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval and the remainder of the circuit is within the infield, allowing for great spectator viewing.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #INDYCARGP

Past track winners

Colton Herta (R2) / 2018
Colton Herta (R1) / 2018
Kyle Kaiser (R2) / 2017
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2017
Dean Stoneman (R2) / 2016
Ed Jones (R1) / 2016
Sean Rayhall (R2) / 2015
Jack Harvey (R1) / 2015
Luiz Razia (R2) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2014