Legacy Indy Lights 100 - Barber Motorsports Park
Legacy Indy Lights 100 Race 2
Barber Motorsports Park - Birmingham, AL
Barber Motorsports Park
Legacy Indy Lights 100 Race 2
Race Complete
Legacy Indy Lights 100 - Barber Motorsports Park

On-Track Schedule

1:10 - 2:20 PM
View Session Results


Spencer Pigot
Juncos Racing
Jack Harvey
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Max Chilton

Race Recap

Birmingham, Ala. - Spencer Pigot clearly has a taste for victory at Barber Motorsports Park. One year ago he won both rounds of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires at the scenic 2.3-mile road course in rural Alabama. This weekend, after stepping up to Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires with his Juncos Racing team by virtue of a Pro Mazda Championship title and a MAZDASPEED scholarship, Pigot repeated the feat as he dominated both races that comprised the Legacy Indy Lights 100.

Englishman Jack Harvey, who finished second in the championship in 2014, losing out on the title only on a tie-breaker, finished second again - for the fourth time in five races this season - for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian. Max Chilton (Carlin) took third to secure his first podium appearance of the season.

Pigot, 21, from Orlando, Fla., led all 35 laps this afternoon in picture-perfect weather conditions after starting from the pole. His only real scare came on Lap 13, when series leader Ed Jones (Carlin), who had rejoined almost a lap down following an incident on the first lap, came across his bows just as Pigot was turning into the final corner, Turn 17. Contact was made but miraculously there was no lasting damage to either of the Mazda-powered Dallara IL-15s. Jones continued to finish 11th.

Pigot's second win in as many days, allied to a pair of thirds and a second in the opening three races of the season, was enough to leapfrog him ahead of Jones in the championship points table by a margin of 132 to 125.

Harvey ran second throughout, despite driving with a broken thumb sustained one week ago at Long Beach. He came under increasing pressure in the waning stages from Chilton and Felix Serralles (Belardi Auto Racing), who enjoyed a race-long battle for third.

Scott Anderson (Schmidt Peterson) finished a distant fifth, followed by impressive Indy Lights newcomer Sean Rayhall (8Star Motorsports), who finally snuck past yesterday's podium finisher RC Enerson (Schmidt Peterson) with a fine pass in Turn 6 with just over 10 laps remaining. The move earned Rayhall the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award.

Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires will continue with two more races, along with the entire Mazda Road to Indy ladder, at the Grand Prix of Indianapolis on May 7-9.


About the track

Barber Motorsports Park

The 2.38-mile permanent road course has 17 flowing turns and features 80 feet of elevation change that challenge drivers and engineers. A 45-foot-wide racing ribbon also makes it imperative for patience while setting up overtaking opportunities.

Social Media

Twitter: @BarberMotorPark

Facebook: @BarberMotorsportsPark

Instagram: @barbermotorpark

Official Hashtag: #HIGPA

Past track winners

Pato O'Ward (R2) / 2018
Pato O'Ward (R1) / 2018
Colton Herta (R2) / 2017
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2017
Santiago Urrutia (R2) / 2016
Ed Jones (R1) / 2016
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2015
Spencer Pigot (R1) / 2015
Gabby Chaves (R2) / 2014
Zach Veach (R1) / 2014
Carlos Munoz / 2013
Sebastian Saavedra / 2012
Victor Garcia / 2011
JK Vernay / 2010