Sonoma Raceway
Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Sonoma Race 2
Sonoma Raceway - Sonoma, CA
Sonoma Raceway
Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Sonoma Race 2
Race Complete
Sonoma Raceway

On-Track Schedule

Practice Final
11:30 - 11:40 AM
View Session Results
6:40 - 7:20 PM
View Session Results


Jose Gutierrez
Juncos Racing
Nicolas Costa
Team Pelfrey
Shelby Blackstock
Andretti Autosport

Race Recap

Sonoma, Calif. - No one could have written a script as convoluted as the one which played out in today's Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Sonoma. The Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires was at stake, along with a $588,800 MAZDASPEED Driver Development Scholarship for the series champion to graduate to Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires, the next step on the Mazda Road to Indy, in 2015.

A sequence of almost unbelievable dramas enabled 17-year-old Mexican Jose Gutierrez to emerge with his first-ever victory, while Juncos Racing teammate Spencer Pigot claimed the championship spoils after Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing's Scott Hargrove experienced a broken transmission while in the lead with just four laps remaining

The action began moments after the start when Pigot tucked in behind polesitter Hargrove on the entry to Turn One... only to be hit from behind by Hargrove's teammate, Neil Alberico. The contact sent Pigot spinning and caused several other cars to be caught up in the melee. The resulting full-course caution enabled Pigot to catch up to the back of the field at the restart, but his title hopes were virtually in tatters with Hargrove leading the race and, following the incident between the pair yesterday, Pigot needing to finish ahead of his rival to stand any chance of winning the championship.

Hargrove soon began to inch clear at the restart, with Gutierrez in second ahead of Nicolas Costa (Team Pelfrey), Shelby Blackstock (Andretti Autosport) and impressive newcomers Jack Aitken (Team Pelfrey) and Joey Bickers (World Speed Motorsports), both of whom were making their Pro Mazda debuts this weekend.

Hargrove looked to be set for the title and was told by his crew over the radio to look after his car and "bring it home." Even as Gutierrez whittled away at the deficit, reducing it from 2.2 seconds on Lap 8 to 1.3 seconds on Lap 11, Hargrove seemed to be in control. Then, suddenly, he lost the use of third gear. Shortly afterward, the caution flags waved again as Kyle Kaiser's Juncos Racing entry stalled on the race track.

The restart came with four laps remaining and Hargrove still in the lead. Pigot, meanwhile, had charged from 18th to seventh, then relieved Bickers of sixth at Turn Four. But surely it still wasn't enough. Well, moments later, Hargrove abruptly slowed. His gearbox was failing. 

Hargrove kept going - and almost collided with Pigot as his rival rounded the stricken Canadian at Turn Eight - but only as far as the pits. His title hopes, along with his transmission, had been shattered.

Gutierrez duly stroked home to the win, while Costa maintained his streak of top-five finishes with second place ahead of Blackstock, who secured his second podium within a week. Aitken came home fourth ahead of an elated Pigot and Bickers, then teammate Alex Keyes who capped an excellent debut weekend with another strong result.

Bobby Eberle, from Houston, Texas, cemented his Expert division championship crown with his third win for World Speed Motorsports, while Juncos Racing overcame a one-point deficit to secure the Team Championship by a 29-point margin over Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing.

Felipe Donato claimed the Quarter Master Hard Charger Award after moving up from 20th on the grid to 13th for M1 Racing, while Aitken took home the Staubli Award. Pigot was awarded the RePlay XD Move of the Race for his avoidance of Hargrove while taking over fifth place on lap 15.

About the track

Sonoma Raceway

The 2.385-mile, 12-turn natural-terrain road course has it all to challenge drivers -- elevation changes, a tight right-hand hiarpin (Turn 12) leading onto the frontstretch, a Carousel turn that requires downshifting -- all packed into a scenic setting.

Social Media

Twitter: @RaceSonoma

Facebook: @RaceSonoma

Instagram: @racesonoma

Official Hashtag: #SonomaGP

Past track winners

Jose Gutierrez (R2) / 2014
Kyle Kaiser (R1) / 2014
Tristan Vautier / 2011
James Hinchcliffe (R2) / 2005
Pablo Donoso (R1) / 2005
Michael McDowell / 2004
Luis Schiavo / 2003
Guy Cosmo / 2002
Scott Jenkins / 2001
Matt Beardsley / 2000
Joey Hand / 1999