Pocono Raceway
Pocono INDYCAR 500
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
10:00 - 11:00 AM ET
View Session Results
Practice 2
1:30 - 2:30 PM ET
View Session Results
5:00 - 6:15 PM ET
View Session Results
1:00 - 3:45 PM ET
View Session Results


Juan Pablo Montoya
Team Penske
Helio Castroneves
Team Penske
Carlos Munoz
Andretti Autosport - HVM Racing

Race Recap

LONG POND, Pa. – Finishes of third, second and seventh the previous three races underscored Juan Pablo Montoya’s assertion that he’s “making progress every week” in his return to Indy car racing after a 13-year absence.

Earning the Verizon P1 Award on July 5 for the Pocono INDYCAR 500 fueled by Sunoco – the 15th of his Indy car career and first since Surfers Paradise in October 2000 – bolstered his rise.

On July 6 --13 years, 9 months and 20 days after his last Indy car victory on Sept. 17, 2000, at Gateway International Raceway -- the 38-year-old CART champion and Indianapolis 500 winner celebrated in Victory Circle again after prevailing in the fast and furious 200 laps on the 2.5-mile tri-oval.

Montoya, the eighth different driver this season to claim the Verizon P1 Award, is the eighth different race winner through 11 rounds of the Verizon IndyCar Series season. He’s the first to win from the pole this season.

"That's great for Juan; what a great race he ran," said team owner Roger Penske, who welcomed Montoya as the third driver at Team Penske this season after the intervening years in which he competed in Formula and the NASCAR Cup Series.

Montoya, driving the No. 2 PPG Team Penske car, led teammate Helio Castroneves across the finish line by 2.3403 seconds. Rookie Carlos Munoz finished third for the third time this season and Ryan Briscoe finished a season-high fourth. Scott Dixon, the winner last year at Pocono Raceway, placed fifth.

"I want to thank Roger for believing in me after so many years out of an Indy car," said Montoya, who claimed his third Indy car 500-mile race victory. “This is fantastic. Things were going good, but you never now when you're going to get a win. We did the right things and got the win, and we're at a good place at this point of the season."

Only two other drivers in Indy car history since 1909 have gone more than 10 years between wins (Babe Stapp from Sept. 19, 1927, on the Charlotte board track to Aug. 27, 1939, at Milwaukee; John Paul Jr. from July 17, 1983, at Michigan International Speedway to Sept. 20, 1998, at Texas Motor Speedway).

With one caution, the race was the third-fastest in Indy car history (202.402 mph) and the first 500-mile race with an average speed above 200 mph. Jimmy Vasser won the 500-mile race in 2002 at then-California Speedway with an average speed of 197.995 mph.

The middle round of the Triple Crown series, which also includes the Indianapolis 500 and the season finale at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., carried double points. Castroneves rose to tie teammate Will Power, who led 69 laps but incurred a drive-through penalty late in the race for blocking Castroneves, in the championship standings heading to Iowa Speedway for a July 12 race under the lights.

“Congrats to Montoya. Are you kidding me? This guy is unbelievable,” said Castroneves, who like Power is seeking his maiden series title. “Coming back after all those years and winning a race? As soon as they signed him I knew he would be an asset, and a headache, for us. It’s good (to have a) 1-2 finish – and we’re tied in the championship. It’s unbelievable.”

Power, who had to pit for fuel on Lap 189, finished 10th.

“That’s one thing about our team, Team Penske, there are no team orders. We race hard and we push for it,” Castroneves said of the blocking ruling by INDYCAR officials in Race Control. “Unfortunately, I’m not the one to make the calls. But I think we were really pushing hard and obviously fighting for the championship.”

Montoya, who led 45 laps, inherited the lead for good on Lap 197 when Tony Kanaan, who led a field-high 78 laps, also had to pit for fuel. Kanaan, driving the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, led laps for the second race this season and for the 100th race in his Indy car career.

It was the 12th Indy car victory for Montoya, who gained one position to fourth in the championship. He’s 55 points behind his teammates. Simon Pagenaud, who finished sixth, replaced Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay in third place in the standings. Hunter-Reay, whose No. 28 DHL car for Andretti Autosport developed a front suspension issue early in the race, finished 18th after repairs.


About the track

Pocono Raceway

Pocono Raceway is called the "Tricky Triangle" because of its unique design. Each turn, connected by some of the longest straightaways in the series, is modeled after a corner from one of Indy car racing's most storied racetracks. Turn 1 (14-degree banking) was modeled after the now defunct Trenton Speedway in New Jersey. Turn 2 (9-degree banking) has characteristics of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Turn 3 (6-degree banking) is similar to The Milwaukee Mile.

Social Media

Twitter: @poconoraceway

Facebook: @poconoraceway

Instagram: @poconoraceway

Official Hashtag: #ABCSupply500

Past track winners

Will Power 2019
Alexander Rossi 2018
Will Power 2017
Will Power 2016
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2015
Juan Pablo Montoya 2014
Scott Dixon 2013
Danny Sullivan 1989
Bobby Rahal 1988
Rick Mears 1987
Mario Andretti 1986
Rick Mears 1985
Danny Sullivan 1984
Teo Fabi 1983
Rick Mears 1982
A.J. Foyt 1981
Bobby Unser 1980
A.J. Foyt 1979
Al Unser 1978
Tom Sneva 1977
Al Unser 1976
A.J. Foyt 1975
Johnny Rutherford 1974
A.J. Foyt 1973
Joe Leonard 1972
Mark Donohue 1971